Saturday, May 05, 2007

Rocky vs NSTP & 4 Others, Defence and Strike-out

Malu. In trying to put up a defence against the defamation suit filed by the NSTP, Kalimullah Hassan, Hishamuddin Aun, Syed Faisal Albar and Brenden a/l Pereira against me in January, I was embarrassed; which basically means that:
1/ I do not know the exact nature of the Plaintiffs' case against me; and
2/ I am left in uncertainty as to which imputations flow from each of the alleged offending publications and/or comments. My lawyers and I have tried to decipher the meanings of their claims against me.

My lawyers had written to the plaintiffs' lawyers requesting for further and better details of their claims in order to help me with the task but they declined.

I was therefore left with two options:
First, to file a holding defence against claims that least embarrassed me, namely:
a. Plagiarism concerning the 5th Plaintiff
b. Weekend Mail concerning the 4th Plaintiff
Second, to apply to strike out the entire suit

I applied the first option on Thursday [see reports by Malaysia Today and Malaysiakini; also the mainstream media including the Star and Bernama and several blogs] and yesterday applied to strike out the entire' suit [here].

9 comments:

1. Anonymous11:14 am

Heard that Datuk Hishamuddin is due for an operation to clear some blockages to his heart. Would you have the heart to pray for his good health?

2. He is the plagiarist. And you are the one who is embarrassed! Kulit nipis lah, you ni. heh heh.

3. [Note fr Rocky's Bru: This one was left by an anon lecturer. As the suit by Brendan against me is still in court, I had to take down some passages to avoid subjudicing the case.]

I read Screenshot's blog site on your case about the examples of plagiariasm. I am shocked!! That term is too nice for [delete]. 'Copy-cat' is more like it.
    I am a lecturer and I have seen such low-down acts done by lazy students. Normally I would just ask them to refer to the original text where they copied from. This always embarrassed them to no end - especially when this exposure is done in the class room.And they usually become repentant.

[paragraph deleted]

4. It's like being on a wedding day, everyone's waiting while the bride's still wondering wether to get hitched... dilemma, dilemma. Hope the wedding buffet doesn't go to waste.

5. Dang! My Queen's council just stepped out the door.

I think I'll help myself to the buffet and wine.

You're joining me, Mob1900?

6. When I was doing my post-graduate, one of the cardinal rules drummed into us when we were writing our theses was we must "ALWAYS acknowledge the source" when we re-word someone's idea. You just can't lift text, change tenses and add or omit a word here and there and then conveniently forget where it comes from. We were warned that we'd have to answer to plagiarism if we were "forgetful". We had a case of a lecturer, who did that in her PHD thesis. She apologised but was sacked anyway because too many students were using the word "forgetful" as excuse.

7. Anonymous1:05 pm

He he he. Hisham has finally succumbed to the pressures of being the honcho of a big corporation. Heard his health has not been good since he took over the reins of Berita Harian and late, the NST. And with Rocky on the loose, surely his health cant improve. Be that as it may, lies, plagiarim, damned lies, treachery, hypocrisy, deceit will always be on the agenda of bloggers and our struggle against these continues. Liars will be outed. It is a matter of time.

8. Shar101,
    CONGRATS on finally joining the blogosphere, as for the wine and buffet, don't forget to recall your Queen Counsel to join us, Mrs. Blair is most welcome to our table unlike the case last year involving the toll.

9. Anonymous12:23 am

Congrats, Hisham on the heart operation. It shows you have worked hard. The heart operation is proof of that.