Wednesday, April 11, 2007

Pak Idrus on Tun Dr Ismail

Read the book, kids. Veteran blogger Pak Idrus, who used to work with the man, describes the book on Tun Dr Ismail by Singaporean Dr Ooi Kee Beng as a "godsend document of the contribution (of) a great son of Malaysia".
"... every page that I turn bring back memories that are so real. "
I'm a slow reader compared with Pak Idrus and have just read about the conquests of the young Ismail in Australia during the Second World War. Pak Idrus will be one of some 20 bloggers who will discuss the book with the author at a forum in KL on April 20.
[see the book review by Pak Idrus]

12 comments:

1. Dear rocky,

I have read the book and I must say that the book encompass an era which Malaysian don't like or can't speak off. I believe there are some materials that can be considered as blunt accusation to the politician but a very uselful facts and view by an academician in determining how we build this nation

Its a pity if come to think that our new generation knew Taman Tun better than the man which the name came from himself.

I read ur article on how Tawfik (son's of Tun Dr. Ismail) choose ISEAS in publishing the book rather than ISIS or any of our fellow Malaysian. That decision (by tawfik) is the right one.

I can't imagine somebody from our country that dare to say or wrote a few facts in the book. Looking back for an example, I read a book written by Zam about the unsung heroes of the admission of defeat by the communist terrorist in bangkok treaty 1989.

That was one of the most important event in this country but been written like "caca merba" as seesm that that man was chasing a dateline. I believe somebody wrote the book for him rather than the man (zam) himself.

What I'm trying to say that, there are facts that need to be told and share and (i hate to say this but its true) thanks God we had ISEAS!

2. Anonymous7:13 pm

I managed to find some quiet time, whenever my parents are asleep, whilst in hospital, to catch up on the "Reluctant Politician" reading.

I am surprised of the many revelations that Ooi brought up in the book, about the Mighty Tun Dr. Ismail.

For instance, Tun Dr. Ismail ONLY joined UMNO in 1951, after Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra took over and even that, when Tunku decided to change UMNO's call from "Hidup Melayu" to "Merdeka", clearly illustrating UMNO's direction and target to be achieved.

All the while I often asked why as a Johor Bahru native, Tun Dr. Ismail did not join UMNO between 1946 till 1951, furthermore, UMNO founder Dato' Onn Jaafar is based in Johor Bahru as well.

3. Anonymous7:13 pm

Thanks to Pak Idrus, i feel I must get a copy and read the man. I did not want to earlier because I didn't like the idea of the book on a Malaysian legend being written by Iseas.
    I still don't like the idea, actually. Why didn't one of our publishers, writers, or think-tanks underwrite the writing of the book?

4. I am half way thru' and hopefully can finish tonite so that I can pass the book to my 15 year-old daughter when she comes back to KL for 2007 UIA Inter-School Debate Championship. I want her to read the book about one of Founders of Persekutuan Tanah Melayu and Malaysia.

5. Anonymous9:10 pm

I'm not sure about the book being a "godsend document..." but I'm interested in attending the discussion. What time and where please Rocky?

6. Anonymous9:12 pm

Dear Tun Teddy,

I agree with you that the "Unsung Hero" which was supposedly written by Zam was a total mess and cacamarba, the word is cacamarba not caca merba..sorry for the correction! No offence meant lah

Yeah, you were right, it was not written by him. This was by Zam's own admission. I strongly believed that the book was done by his senior private secretary Sabaruddin Ahmad Sabri, a former reporter of Utusan Malaysia who was a relatively unknown writer.

It was so badly written that the whole book missed the point about the unsung heros, which by the way that i suggested the Malay title should be "Wira Yang Tidak DiKenang" rather than "Wira Tidak Didendang" which is totally a broken Malay and symantically wrong. "Wira Tidak DiDendang" is a direct translation of the English name and it was stupid! I told him so...

But you knowlah Zam, the hard-headed Indian Muslim who do not take good advice easily and went on his way, hence the whole book, in my opinion, was more of an attempt to exonerate the Big Bully Rahim Noor (who whacked Anwar Ibrahim to the pulp) who was said to be instrumental in bringing down the arm struggle of members of the Communist Party of Malaya (CPM). Actually the real work was done by one senior SB office, a chinese whose work was not the real highlights in the book.

Zaki Tok Tam
    Anakbukit, Alor Setar, Kedah

7. Hi OFF, you'll need to sms me your phone no or email address so I can give you the details. My no is 0192268978 (don't worry, publish this number as it is for receiving sms only). Thank you for your interest.

8. Dear Zaki Tok Tam,

Thanks for the info about the book. I'm very much agree with you that the chinese fella (SB high echelon officer) is the one who arranged the meeting...

tq

9. Rocky, thanks for exposing my blog to a larger audiences. Like I had said before I am just sharing my thoughts with the world. For me it is a period of giving. Trying in a small way to makes living as beautiful as ever. Thanks again. Have a nice day.

10. Pak Idrus, It is I who must thank you and guys like you, for showing the way.
    Thank you and look forward to meet you again on the 20th.

11. Anonymous4:52 pm

Can I buy online version of the book? Anyone know?

12. Anonymous12:31 am

rockybru,

Thanks for the link. Will finish world is flat and them this book which I bought a month ago.Too bad we don't have many men like this anymore in UMNO and Malaysia.Now they are all yes man and toe the line even when what is going on is wrong. Well Cemerlang to our current leaders.Masa gemilang Malaysia bukan dibawah pemimpinan Pak Lah.