Saturday, October 14, 2006

POLITICAL SUICIDE

''And I have, and I still ...'' In an interview with CNN, I-am-still-the-Prime-Minister dismissed talk that he was committing ''political suicide'' by opting to remain silent in the face of criticisms by Dr M.

"No, no, no, I don't think it's a political suicide. He has been saying a lot of things, I've decided to keep quiet and to go on doing what I want to do. And the people want me to do what I want to do.

''And I have and I still command majority support today."
Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

Bernama has sent out the first take of the interview so do look out for the rest of the story.

p.s. This is not the first time the PM has dropped names, using ''the people'' as an excuse for doing things. I suppose he has the right to do so as he is, after all, the Prime Minister who has and still commands majority support today.

24 comments:

1. Anonymous4:27 pm

Rocky. I think the people he meant live on the 4th floor. The real people, as in the rakyat, don't exist is Badawiah's limited vocab.

If the CNN reporter's in Mekah now, the PM will say, "the people want me to perform the umrah". Sorry, I really don't think much of him anymore. Sob.

2. Anonymous5:30 pm

''And I have and I still command majority support today." Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

Sorry Mr Prime Minister, I beg to differ. Just wait for the next GE. The longer you delay, the more votes you will lose. Who has moved my cheese, you may ask then.

3. Anonymous5:47 pm

And why is Bernama apeing Straits Times in calling Kuan Yew "Singapore's founding father"?
    Let's not help him or the PAP government rewrite Singapore's history. Kuan Yew did not found Singapore.

extract from the same CNN interview with our PM:

........On Singapore founding father Lee Kuan Yew's remark on Sept 15 that Malaysian Chinese are being "systematically marginalised", Abdullah reiterated that it was a groundless allegation.

"Yes, it's groundless. And it is an issue that can cause unhappiness to many people. Why? Some may even regard it as tantamount to interfering with what we are doing.

"The Chinese in Malaysia are doing well. They are better off than the indigenous people, than the Malays," he said.

He said the Malaysian Chinese achieved what they have today because the Government provided them opportunities to be successful.

-- BERNAMA

4. Anonymous7:07 pm

Bru,

Hear this: I am the voter. I am in charge!

5. Anonymous7:12 pm

Bru,

What else can Pak Lah say? If he choses to break his not-so-elegent silent, the CNN might ask for his reponse, which he might once again blunder like he did in the chit chat with his old friend Annuar Zaini over his TV station, TV3 which is run by his friend kamarulzaman.

6. Rocky Bru!

I stand corrected that Malaysian-Chinese community in this country are better off than the Malays and the indigenous people, I am not the only ne saying this our Prime Minister also said so in and interview as reported by Bernama. So if all of you people, especially that ugly squinty Chinaman from across the Selat, believe the Malaysian Chinese are margnalised and that the Malays have achieved the 45% success in the sum total of the economic pie, then you all are the worse morons than the Malays! THis is what the Prime Mnister said: "The Chinese in Malaysia are doing well. They are better off than the indigenous people, than the Malays."

nIfact the Chinese-Malaysian became richer and well off when the government concocted this NEP, how do I know the PM said it: "The Malaysian Chinese achieved what they have today because the Government provided them opportunities to be successful."

NEP is one of the biggest opportunities given to the Chinese at the expense of the Malays! Sigh!

Duck and frap!

7. Anonymous9:52 pm

Cabinet reshuffle after CNY ??? read this at Dato Ruhanie's
    www.kuda-kepang.blogspot.com

8. Anonymous10:00 pm

"And the people want me to do what I want to do. And I have and I still command majority support today," he said

He must be the most nyanyok PM to say that.

"Not everything he put in place. No. Vision 2020, his biggest achievement, that's my target too. That we share, I share the vision. I have developed what I call a national mission. The mission is very big in order to achieve that vision," he said.

That is the most confusing statement that could ever come out from the mouth of a person holding a PM's position.

I felt so embarrased and ashamed Malaysia has him as the PM. He doesn't have it in him.

9. Anonymous11:35 pm

The keyword here is "majority today" well, let's meet and talk again after our next GE, Mr. Father in Law.

10. Anonymous11:53 pm

bro, i got a glance of the pm on astro but didn't quite understanding what he's saying. i think he failed to express and speak up for people of malaysia when it comes to LKY.

should show some guts and 'kebijaksanaan' when adrressing those questions. Again he let us down. watching the reds on the other channel was more entertaining tho they are down to blackburn...

can't wait to see tun in bloomberg talk monday.

11. Anonymous12:09 am

anjali rao said at the end of the interview it was 'fantastic' having abdullah bodohwi on talk asia. huh? what's so fantastic? it was like a cosy chit-chat at a tea party. i almost expect them to give each other air kisses at the end. mmuah , mmuah...

12. Anonymous1:04 am

Let's hope for the best. Hope PM will continue to get support. But he must make sure its genuine support.

13. Anonymous2:02 am

" And the people, want me to do what I want to do," Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, Prime Minister of Malaysia.

Contrast this to " And every Malaysian to join in and work with me and not for me," Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, newly elected Prime Minister of Malaysia.

What has changed, that a man, who wants people to work with him, now feels that the people wants him to do what he wants to do?

My 8 Q?

1) Are the people of Malaysia, clamouring 4 expensive fuel?

2) Are the people of Malaysia clamouring for higher borrowing rates?

3) Are the people of Malaysia, demanding that they pay higher electricity and water rates?

4) Are the people of Malaysia, especially in Johor, pleased that the bridge project was canceled?

5) Have the people of Malaysia, demanded that a man, who could not get security clearence to work for Tun Ghafar, be appointed as deputy chairman of NSTP?

6) Is it true that the people of Malaysia, dont want an investigation on how Mohd Hanif, who served under Rafidah, got all those APs, with a skeleton showroom?

7) Have, the people of Malaysia, demanded that Malaysia allow US ships carrying nuclear weapons, hang around of shores?

8) Did the people of Malaysia, especially Terengganu, demand, that Patric Lim, get the bulk of jobs in the state?

Any man, who thinks that these are what the people want, must be from the same school of thought as Pol Pot, Mao and Stalin, who did it all for the people.

Soldier of Fortune says, its okay to make a buck or two, but to start believing that is what the people want, you better get your head checked, or go smoke under water as blindness is confusing, it shows you are unhealed.

14. Anonymous4:56 am

Bru,

Let's forget politics for a while and remember the just departed Freddie Fender. I grew up on a diet of "Before the Next Teardrop Falls".

"If he brings you happiness,
    Then I wish you all the best.
    It's your happiness that matters
    Most of all.

But if he ever breaks your heart,
    If the teardrops ever start,
    I'll be there
    Before the next teardrop falls.

Si te quiere de verdad,
    Y te da felicidad,
    Te deseo lo mas bueno pa' los dos.
    Pero si te hace llorar,
    A mi me puedes hablar.
    Y estare contigo cuando triste estas.

I'll be there
    Anytime you need me
    By your side
    To dry away
    Any teardrops that you cry.

And if he ever leaves you blue,
    Just remember - I love you.
    And I'll be there

I'll be there

15. I missed the news about his passing. Thanks kaliyuga. Still remember first time I heard that song. Just like yesterday (which is, btw,the title of an obscure Bread number from around that period too).

16. Anonymous5:41 am

From what I gathered, I dint miss much on Pak lah's interview with CNN. Same old rantings, same confusing statements. He's still very delusional.

But this (DR M's upcoming interview), I MUST watch.

Hani
    =====================

COMING UP NEXT WEEK

Dr. Mahathir Mohamad was one of Asia's longest serving leaders. In his 22 years as Prime Minister of Malaysia, he firmly pushed the country towards modernization by shifting it from an agricultural nation into a developed industrial economy. Despite retiring in 2003, Dr Mahathir remains an outspoken figure in Asian politics. He joins Talk Asia to reveal his thoughts on current Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, and explain his polemic views on Judaism and the War on Terror

http://edition.cnn.com/ASIA/talkasia/

17. Anonymous5:49 am

Bravo Pak Lah. Sock it to the man, man. Bru, to better explain the above, here's the Malaysiakini reporting of our great Father/Daddy Lah's CNN interview based on Bernama's reporting:

"Many of former premier Dr Mahathir Mohamad’s criticisms of the present government were largely irrelevant, said his handpicked successor Abdullah Ahmad Badawi today.

However, he said Dr Mahathir Mohamad’s criticisms were never ignored, and necessary adjustments were made if they were relevant, reported Bernama.

“And some, I can’t accept,” he said, adding that most people were uncomfortable with Mahathir’s criticisms.

His highly anticipated interview with Anjali Rao in the TalkAsia programme aired early this morning on Cable News Network (CNN).

Abdullah also brushed off suggestions that he was dismantling Mahathir’s legacy by cancelling several ‘mega-projects’ such as the controversial new bridge from Johor to Singapore.

“Not everything he put in place. No. Vision 2020, his biggest achievement, that's my target too. That we share, I share the vision. I have developed what I call a national mission. The mission is very big in order to achieve that vision,” he added.

Political suicide

On whether he had committed ‘political suicide’ by being relatively unresponsive to Mahathir’s unrelented criticism, Abdullah said he kept quiet because he had better things to do.

“No, no, no, I don't think it's a political suicide. He has been saying a lot of things, and I've decided to keep quiet and to go on doing what I want to do,

“And the people want me to do what I want to do. And I have and I still command majority support today,” said Abdullah.

Quizzed on whether Malaysia would be what it is today without Mahathir's style of governance, Abdullah said his former boss turned fiercest critic had made considerable success for the nation.

“We are proud of his achievements. That’s a fact,” he said.

Kuan Yew’s remark ‘groundless’

On Singapore Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew’s allegations that Chinese Malaysians were ‘systematically marginalised’, Abdullah said it was a baseless allegation.

“Yes, it's groundless. And it is an issue that can cause unhappiness to many people. Why? Some may even regard it as tantamount to interfering with what we are doing,

“The Chinese in Malaysia are doing well. They are better off than the indigenous people, than the Malays,” he said.

Abdullah said Chinese Malaysians had achieved significant success only because the government had provided opportunities to do so.

Meanwhile, Mahathir, in an interview to be aired on Monday on Bloomberg TV - which is available on local satellite TV station Astro - has attacked Abdullah Ahmad Badawi for endangering economic growth."

From Elegent silent, our Daddy Lah has become Arrogant Insolent.

Kali and Bren, please explain what insolent means to our Daddy.

He said Mahathir's criticims were largely irrelevant but never ignored.

Profound Bru! The old man must really be stirring s--t. Irrelevant yet the Big Daddy and his Yes Men could not ignore.

Can you image what could have happened if his criticisms are generally relevant?

Daddy Lah and his Yes Master men would be s------g bricks. That would be a terrible pain in the rear.

18. Pak Lah should stop giving any more interviews.

He doesn’t know what he is talking. The interview was a REAL joke!I feel so embarrassed for him.

Alamak malunya!

19. Anonymous6:14 am

LOL...Abdullah really need to get down to the street alone and sit in a kopitiam or mamak to hear what the people got to say about him.

of the 92% voted for BN, some got no choice eg. BN vs PAS..some wants to thank Tun M, they believe in him...some kena tipu big time!

20. Anonymous7:29 am

With Permission.

Pak Lah....Shut up lah!!!!!

21. Anonymous9:06 pm

~ becoming number one is easier than remaining number one ~

22. Anonymous4:17 am

Hidup Pak Lah. Hidup Pak Lah. Biarkan Mahathir dan kuncu-kuncunya jadi seperti Luncai dan labunya.

23. Anonymous12:45 pm

I watched the CNN interview to see if AAB's advisers and trainers have done a better job.

I’m glad that he did not wag his finger this time as in the TV3 interview. Also, he did not shift about in his chair.

However, I could not understand what he was saying. Was he speaking in English? I had to turn up the volume and listen hard. Thankfully, what he said later on became more understandable.

Three things struck me. Firstly, when asked about the misunderstanding of Islam by the non-Muslim world, his answer was that Muslims are very serious about their religion. He repeated that. Come on, believers of any religions are serious about their faiths. I’m afraid that AAB has given the impression that Muslims are fanatically serious about Islam.

Secondly, when asked about TDM’s achievements in the development of Malaysia, AAB paused and hesitated before he replied. He gives the impression that TDM does not deserve that much credit, or anyone else could have done it. Perhaps, his “Towering Malay” son-in-law and his gang of macai-macai could have done better.

Thirdly, when asked about LKY’s controversial statement on Chinese Malaysians, AAB appeared angry. He seemed to answer without thinking. His answer must have pleased his son-in-law very much because it lends support to the SIL’s scandalous racial statement. However, I am not so sure if the Chinese are pleased with what AAB has said.

I feel that the CNN interview has done more harm than good for Muslims and for Malaysians.

24. Anonymous5:28 pm

Rocky bru,with your permission. Assh.le just shutup.The way you talk is like a drunkard being interview