Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Why I wouldn't sign the petition asking the PM to sack Maszlee

Certain quarters want Mazlee out as Education Minister ..

"We are concerned that the Pakatan Harapan government will lose many of its votes because of this minister that you have appointed." - Tun, please replace Minister o Education Mazlee Malik

TTDI-Plaza, 21/5: I may have frowned and lolled at some of the things that Education Minister Maszlee Malik has tried to do in the past year, but he's definitely NOT the reason why this Government has lost it so soon after the GE14. Sacking him may serve the narrow agenda of some parties (within PH itself, but not DAP, so says Kit Siang :) but it won't bring back Dr Mahathir Mohamad's vanishing charm and diminishing popularity.

Come on, which one of Mazlee's policies (listed by the petition) do you think have damaged the PM and this government's reputation:

1. black shoes and black socks?
2. go cashless at schools?
3. petrol kiosks on varsity grounds?
4. swimming as an extra curriculum activity in schools?

I may not get Mazlee's point about the black shoes and socks but swimming as an ECA is something I, as a parent, would support 100%. It's a healthy activity, it can be a life-saving skill, and it means, I hope, more public pools and even swimming pools in learning institutions in future. 

Go cashless in schools? Aren't societies in this modern world going that way? Aren't we as a society heading that way, too?

And I don't think petrol kiosks anywhere is the issue here. The issue is the price of petrol. Or, rather, PH's unfulfilled promise that petrol price will be so cheap when they come into power.

What's wrong with these petitioners?

Oh, I see. They want him sacked because he said the job market is still unfair to Bumiputeras? 

“If we want to change this, saying we are in the new Malaysia and that we do not need the quota system, then we must also ensure that job opportunities for Bumiputeras are not denied.”

Is that it?

If so, these so-called supporters of PH are worse than I thought. They can't face the truth. They'd rather kill the messenger. You guys should ask Dr Muhammed Abdul Khalid, the economic advisor to Dr Mahathir and author of The Colour of Inequality, to step down. And Muhyiddin Yassin needs to go, too. In 2014, he said the Bumiputera continued to be treated unfairly in the private sector.

“A study carried out by Dr Lee Hwok Aun and Dr. Muhammed Abdul Khalid (pic) in 2012 found that for every Malay graduate called for an interview in the private sector, an average of 5.3 Chinese graduates was interviewed, although they all had the same qualification.

“The official data also shows a high unemployment rate among the bumiputera workforce, which is 70.3 per cent, including unemployed graduates of 66.9 per cent,” he added.

Muhyiddin said based on a study by economic experts, the bumiputera workers received a salary of 20 to 40 per cent lower than the non-bumiputera in the private sector.
“A study carried out by Dr Lee Hwok Aun and Dr. Muhammed Abdul Khalid in 2012 found that for every Malay graduate called for an interview in the private sector, an average of 5.3 Chinese graduates was interviewed, although they all had the same qualification." - Muhyiddin, Malaysia needs an equitable economic model, 25 Nov 2014

p.s If there's a petition to remove the minister responsible for our economic woes and for increasing the nation's debts to over a trillion ringgit and scaring the investors away, I may support. 

1 comment:

1. Salam Dato Rocky.

I agree with you on this one, especially on the swimming lesson for young student.
    All my 5 sons are not afraid of the water, since I use to take them to swimming pools, instead of shopping malls on weekends.