Saturday, June 04, 2016

Republic of Johor

Frail youth jailed one year for insulting Johor royals on FB 

5/6/16 With updates at the end of this original posting ...

NST June 1 article h e r e
Puchong, 4 June 2016: I find the Crown Prince of Johor's purported statement on Facebook about getting the PM to axe Johor from Malaysia extremely funny and, at the same time, very disturbing. But in chatrooms and kopitiams, it has gotten a lot of people talking incessantly about cessation secession.
Well, it is not really up to Prime Minister Najib Razak to kick Johor out of this beloved country, even if the PM agrees with those jealous critics of Bangsa Johor (who they, again?). 
Neither is it up the Yang diPertuan Agong, a position the TMJ would one day assume, God willing. 
The ones to decide will be the people. The Johoreans. And I have not met a single Johorean who wants his state to be axed from his country Malaysia, even after the TMJ's posting. Maybe I need to linger near the palaces to find one!
But I did hear this seasoned lady journalist, a staunch Johorean, who said if Jobhor and Malaysia were to part ways - "and it's not going to happen" - she would ONLY ever agree if her beloved Johor is made into a Republic. 
Whoa.
So if Johor were to be axed from Malaysia or axe Malaysia, it may not get to become another Brunei like some people may hope. More likely, it will be like neighbouring Singapore which, incidentally, was a jajahan Johor before somebody decided to sell it to Sir Stamford Raffles not too long ago ...
Source (purported_: TMJ Supporters

Updates 5/6/16, 11pm:
While many of my brave commenters on this blog choose to remain Anonymous, for whatever reason, the commenters on my FB account are mostly real people using their real names. Check out their views on Republic of Johor that I posted on my Facebook account.

One commenter, a YB from Johor, wrote:

One or two or three other Johorians also boldly spoke up:

29 comments:

1. vinnan3:29 pm

It was your DUMNO who kicked Singapore out of Malaysia and not the people of Malaysia. There was no referendum. Singapore and Brunei went on to adopt the Straits Dollar as their common currency though with different names. Today the SGD-BND is 3 to 1 against the MYR. Johor Ringgit or Dollar can join the SGD and BND.

UMNO Greedy, Arrogant and Stupid Dulu, Kini dan Selamanya. Now we have to add PUS to the Ketuanan equation.

2. Anonymous3:35 pm

Only Dumb and Delusional will ever think TMJ really serious on his speech, yes he means it, but if we look deeper into his speech , we can find the voice of disappointment and tiredness on how today's government inability to get deals done especially when it comes to 1mdb issue.. while dozens of investigation has been launched by foreign government, we here just sitting around and waiting each of this government taking into action... what a shame

joh

3. Anonymous4:50 pm

Respect is earned. It's not a birthright.

4. Anonymous9:20 pm

Bro Bru,
    Would I be picked by anybody you know who if I share my thoughts at your space which could be less flattering ( depending on who is reading it) ?

5. Anonymous9:31 pm

I am Johorean. I support.

6. Anonymous10:18 pm

This can be seditous or threasonous idea to promote.

Will police dare take action as happened to some politicians promoring same odea in the past?

7. Anonymous12:47 am

it is up to the johoreans themselves.
    nak keluar malaysia go ahead.
    so fed up with arrogant so called royalty who dont marry their own bangsa johor and have their own bangsa johor in the football team!!!
    semua nak ambik negeri lain punye.
    sombong bila banyak duit but forget Allah ada.

8. Anonymous7:56 am

Thumbs up

9. The royalty of my home state are brainy with humility. I'm proud of them. Cause I hate cocky rich people.

10. I wonder which of them kick the opposing football team member,, or was it a hockey team?

11. Never heard about it, mungkin pasal tak pernah borak dengan rakyat jelata di Johor?
    Borak dgn established so called "Johorean" lived in KL, yang thinks they already have it all, definately represent the though of semua Bangsa Johore....

12. In case of Singapore, it was up to the PM, kan?... mungkin patut checkout Memoir LKY.....

13. Mustapha ong4:57 pm

I am a Johorean first before I became a fellow Malaysian. Is that wrong? Johor has a long history of a Federated Malay State. Johor is a sovereign state and has been accociated with Singapore. In my earlier posting, Johor being the richest state wanted to merge with Singapore into to protect its sovereignty interest when Singapore rejected the terms of merging with Malaysia in 1965. The facts of this history canot be erased and the younger generation is ignorant of this important history annal.

14. drMpower5:45 am

That Kushairi Lasar give an analogy without explaining the whole thing about it. A car that can travel 240kph doesnt mean we have to drive it that fast.

Thats true. But if you want to, then u can. Because it can goes to 240kph. Unless it only speeds until 90kph max, there is no way for u to go 240kph

The same goes to his second so called analogy - a person who has all the power does not mean he can do anything he wants.

This is also half true. It should be like this:

A person with all the powers can do whatever he or she wants, as long as it within the rules.

15. Anonymous8:15 am

This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

16. Anonymous12:02 pm

This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

17. :-)

"Ter"published comments by Anonymous here.
    As it's holy Ramadan, why not, eh?

To my dear Readers and Commenters,
    Selamat Berpuasa and Ramadan blessings!

18. thegreatteadrinkerdownsouth2:29 pm

Let me point out, Rocky, that certain quarters in Malaysia rejoiced when Singapore was kicked out in 1965. They thought that that the Singapore government would come crawling back and beg for readmission to Malaysia.

Guess what? LKY and his cabinet were made of sterner stuff.

Fast forward to 2016 and the contrast between the two countries and economies couldn't be greater.

Starting from the now well known currency exchange rate of approximately 3:1.

The TMJ is calling it as he sees it. He can see what's happening across the Causeway.

The Arabs are investing in Singapore. The Qatar Investment Authority has agreed to buy Asia, Square Tower 1 in the city-state for S$3.4 billion.

I don't recall the QIA or any other Arab SWF offering to purchase TRX and Bandar Malaysia from 1MDB. It was the investors from the "gene pool" (to quote a term coined by blogger Helen Ang) who picked up those assets for a not inconsiderable amount of money.

Confidence is telling, eh?

In which spirit, I wish you a peaceful and happy Ramadan.

19. What's the point in you fasting if you support a corrupt lying and thieving man.

20. Mat Bi6:12 pm

What if a Sarawakian says the same thing? A Sabahan? How long does it takes for the special branch to knock on the door?

21. Ramadan Kareem bro.

22. Mustapha Ong3:31 am

I was born in JB (1943) and a Johorean. We can never erased history, in 1965 Johor was contemplating to leave Malaysia and merge with Singapore and Brunei Darulsalam.

23. Sdr Mustapha Ong,
    But Johor decided to join Malaysia. And just as well.
    Like you said, we can never erase history. Or change it just because the TMJ Supporters think it should be changed.

24. Selamat Berpuasa Sdr Suhaimi. Ramadan blessings for you and loved ones.

25. Dear thegreatteadrinkerdownsouth,

And yet, Johor as part of Malaysia is thriving economically. The people aren't suffering. And members of the Royalty in Johor, they are probably one of the wealthiest people north of Singapore and East of Brunei and this side of the Suez! Anyone can see that.

26. thegreatteadrinkerdownsouth1:37 pm

Pak Rocky,

Which parts of my posting didn't you understand?

Did I mention anything about Johor not "thriving economically"?

It is an acknowledged fact that Johoreans (and other Malaysians living in the JB area) commute daily to work in Singapore. Why would they do this if good & well-paid jobs are plentiful in Johor?

As for the wealth of the Johor royalty, you are not being jealous, are you?

Or what are you implying? Spell it out with no caveats.

Btw, why is Johor still buying treated (potable) water from a Singapore-owned water treatment plant in the state?

50+ years after Merdeka and Johor still isn't self-sufficient as far as treated (potable) water is concerned?

That's something to be proud of? As part of "thriving economically"?

27. Poor Teenager treated with contempt7:35 pm

Justice is meted out very, very, very fast to the poor.

The learned Judge Sabariah Atan could not differentiate between sedition and multimedia act.
    As a lawyer said its not a criminal offence to insult TMJ.
    Insulting TMJ because of football is normal among football fans.
    The learned Judge was quick to condemn the youth not understanding football culture. TMJ choose to involve himself with the rakyat game so he must be prepared to deal with rakyat words.

What the boy has done has not harmed anyone. No one read the football blog anyway.
    There was no evidence that it was as widely read as RockyBru. Mostly in Kelantanese loghat anyway.
    Insulting TMJ is not sedition and neither was the teenager charged with sedition.
    So it was surprising indeed that the poor Kelantanese teenager, who pleaded to be to Sabariah Atan to be let go, but she said bismisllah no,

Reminds me of the Queen song..

But I'm just a poor boy and nobody loves me
    He's just a poor boy from a poor family
    Spare him his life from this monstrosity
    Easy come easy go will you let me go
    Bismillah! No we will not let you go - let him go
    Bismillah! We will not let you go - let him go
    Bismillah! We will not let you go let me go
    Will not let you go let me go (never)
    Never let you go let me go
    Never let me go ooo
    No, no, no, no, no, no, no
    Oh mama mia, mama mia, mama mia let me go
    Beelzebub has a devil put aside for me
    For me

14 years maximum sentence for each comment! Has the lady prosecutor Nor and the lady Judge understand what they are doing. Or are they in awe of the wealthy Sultan that a poor boy is sentenced to 14 years jailed for comments in facebook!!
    The Chief Justice must look into this case. 14 years for offence according to the MCMC Act!! The fact that it is concurrent is not relevant. The fact is that the poor Kelantan boy was sentenced to the maximum for each comment which some people find insulting or annoying.

As if the police have no snatch thieves to catch..muahaha..

28. Tak Mahu Jumud10:24 am

Mustapha Ong

Johor was never part of the federated malay state which was only Pahang, Perak, Selangorand Negeri Sembilan.

For someone born in 1948, rather surprised you got that important fact of history wrong.