Wednesday, December 02, 2015

Why Pua not satisfied that his own PAC boss is satisfied?

TONY PUA: PAC CHAIR'S SATISFACTION WITH 1MDB BOSS' TESTIMONY ONLY PERSONAL OPINION 

KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 1 — Public Accounts Committee (PAC) member Tony Pua disputes committee chairman Datuk Hasan Arifin’s statement that PAC is satisfied so far with 1Malaysia Development Berhad (1MDB) president Arul Kanda Kandasamy’s testimony.
Pua, who is Petaling Jaya Utara MP from the DAP, said it was merely Hasan himself who was satisfied halfway through questioning Arul Kanda this morning.
Arul is expected to continue his testimony before the PAC this afternoon.
“It is not the PAC's opinion as we have not deliberated on his answers and we have not heard from the other parties,” Pua wrote on his Facebook page today.
Yesterday, the PAC concluded two days of grilling former 1MDB chief executive Datuk Shahrol Azral Ibrahim Halmi in its investigation into the debt-laden state investment firm.
Once the PAC finishes questioning Arul Kanda, the committee will call 1MDB chairman Tan Sri Lodin Wak Kamaruddin to give his statement.
The committee was briefed by the Auditor-General on his final report on the audit on 1MDB.

Guess who's getting personal?  The 1MDB issue, to YB Tony Pua, is beyond political. It's personal now. Eversince he backed down from his own debate challenge in October. You see, Arul Kanda, the 1MDB boss, wasn't supposed to accept that challenge, he was supposed to freeze and be scared shit like everybody else would be. Instead, Arul accepted the challenge and the rest, as they say, was history. No, actually, Pua became history. As many see it, Pua will take a while to recover from that misadventure.

What did PAC chairman Datuk Hasan Arifin really say yesterday? That he was "satisfied, for now" with Arul's answers. He didn't say Arul scored perfect As and or Arul was an angel; he told the Press, after the first two-hour grilling by the parliamentary watchdog, that "So far, the explanations are satisfactory".  (TMI, Dec 1)

At the end of yesterday's session, YB Hasan said: "The probe is not over yet. We are satisfied but we want to have more details". (NST, Dec 1). 

Arul will be called again by the PAC on Dec 18 (The Star, Dec 1). I suggest YB Pua prepare all out for that session and make it really count. Last shot at glory. 

13 comments:

1. Anonymous10:31 am

"The 1MDB issue, to YB Tony Pua, is beyond political. It's personal now. Eversince he backed down from his own debate challenge in October. You see, Arul Kanda, the 1MDB boss, wasn't supposed to accept that challenge, he was supposed to freeze and be scared shit like everybody else would be. Instead, Arul accepted the challenge and the rest, as they say, was history. No, actually, Pua became history. As many see it, Pua will take a while to recover from that misadventure."

Fantastic rewrite of history, bro.

It would be more accurate to say that whimpering Arul went sliding up Pandikar's sarong for refuge, while Pua was threatened with expulsion from the PAC, would it not?

Yes, it would.

2. Anonymous10:35 am

So Carimakan is "satisfied"?

Ohhhhh, what a huge shock.

He was handpicked for a reason.

"In a statement released following the session, PAC chairman Datuk Hasan Arifin reiterated his satisfaction with Arul Kanda’s testimony, which the former conveyed just halfway into the session, saying he was convinced by the latter’s answers.

“On the whole, the PAC is relieved that 1MDB engages in deals and investments abroad with reputable foreign firms,” Hasan added in his statement, but without elaborating."

See:

http://www.themalaymailonline.com/malaysia/article/1mdb-chief-says-glad-got-to-explain-to-pac-hasan-again-says-satisfied

Yes, you read that correctly:

“On the whole, the PAC is relieved that 1MDB engages in deals and investments abroad with reputable foreign firms.”

I think he is pretending not to know about:

a) Brazen Sky

b) Goodstar

c) Bridge Partners

d) Avestra

Latuk, as a highly-paid professional, perhaps you can delve into these four companies and enlighten the world as to how "reputable" they are? Or even PSI itself?

By the way, the number of countries going after 1MDB has risen to six. Count the Aussies in as well:

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/business/malaysias-1mdb-scandal-australian-connection-in-malaysia-scandal/story-e6frg8zx-1227580538357

http://www.dealstreetasia.com/stories/malaysia-1mdbs-funds-traced-to-australian-investment-firm-regulators-are-liquidating-18288/

http://www.wsj.com/articles/hunt-for-billions-invested-by-1mdb-points-to-australia-1446528646

If Carimakan is not too busy "looking for lunch", he should read up a bit.

I guess you should, too.

Happy reading.

3. Anonymous11:41 am

https://jebatmustdie.wordpress.com/2015/11/30/1mdb-scandal-complete-silence-from-securities-commission-and-the-tax-authorities/

Is it possible that the PAC Chairman doesn't actually understand much of the PAC hearings?

Yes, it's possible.

You should see the mess that the prepaid bloggers make of it *cough*

Of course they'll also claim that because the new A-G rejected BNM's 1MDB prosecution report twice, 1MDB is squeaky clean.

Of course, the other competing theory is that the NEW pac chairman and NEW a-g were, ummmmm, "good choices".

Do note the word "NEW".

4. Anonymous12:19 pm

"The investigation into allegations of an unexplained US$681 million infusion into Najib’s bank accounts, and the money’s subsequent disappearance, plus irregularities involving the ill-starred 1Malaysia Development Bhd. state-backed investment fund, have metamorphosed into one of Asia’s biggest potential scandals.

Minutely detailed stories of the financial transactions have appeared in the Sarawak Report, the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times and Asia Sentinel. They have had no apparent effect on his viability as prime minister, with all stories met with denials or charges that the publications were biased despite the fact that Najib and his grasping wife are beginning to attain the legendary status of such outsized kleptomaniacs as the late Ferdinand Marcos in the Philippines and Suharto in Indonesia."

Yep, things sure are rosy.

5. Anonymous1:37 pm

The problem is Tony failed to attend the PAC inquiry with Arul. No balls ehh..

6. Anonymous2:20 pm

As usual PUA will continue to be a fool sampai ke tulang som som. I wonder how a person with that kind of mentality can ever be considered to be the future leader of anything. Kesian DAP

7. Anonymous4:51 pm

Who is satisfied?

31% of the Malays, 23% of the public?

Everyone knows that once the toothpaste is out of the tube, there’s no point trying to put it back in. Everyone, it seems, except the prime minister and his dwindling circle of supporters.

The proverbial toothpaste in this case, includes:

a) The denial of any connection with the intermediary Jho Low;

b) The seemingly contradictory explanations about 1MDB funds;

c) The silence about the source and destination hundreds of millions of US dollars the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) confirmed was in Najib’s bank account;

d) The legal cases slapped against critical media and political
    opponents;

e) The sacking of the former attorney-general Abdul Gani Patail;

f) The transfer of MACC officials to the PM’s Department and then the re-transfer;

g) The elevation of the PAC members to the cabinet, delaying PAC investigations;

h) The purge of dissenting Umno members from the party ranks,

i) The jailing of whistle-blowers under security laws;

j) The removal of his then Deputy Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin.

So.....

Who is satisfied?

8. Anonymous4:57 pm

Ummmmm...

I think PAC chairman better read this:

http://dinturtle.blogspot.my/2015/12/reputasi-pac-dibawah-hasan-saya-pun-nak.html

That explains why his "reputable firms" aren't so reputable.

9. Anonymous8:48 pm

"Why Pua not satisfied that his own PAC boss is satisfied?"

Why your English broken?

Why Datuk Mohd Bakke Salleh not satisfied?

Why Tan Sri Azlan Mohd Zainol not satisfied?

"1MDB chairman Datuk Mohd Bakke Salleh and board member Tan Sri Azlan Mohd Zainol quit in protest after the US$700 million that was meant for the joint venture were diverted to another company without the board’s approval.

Quoting an investigator, the report said the board had directed that the money be returned to the JV company “but no action was taken”.

Why BOD minutes show that the BOD knew a massive con was being pulled off?

Why the botak Indian admit BOD minutes "genuine"?

Why rakyat kena liwat?

Why?

Why?

Why?

10. Anonymous2:00 am

Satisfactory is not a conclusion it is just a feeling. One's satisfaction may or may not be shared by others. One may find satisfaction in water vapors and other may find satisfaction in classic cars. It is an individual right to feel what he feels.

11. Anonymous10:51 pm

Hassan used the word " We r satisfied so far". So, Pua Chu Kang is correct. Hassan should have not used the word "We" since no deliberation has taken place yet.
    "So far" can also mean so far fr finish, so far fr truth, so far I dun really care, so far a lot of things too many hanky panky, so far I cari make je, etc.

12. Cari makan ma11:37 pm

His boss already said...dontlah I also want to cari makan ma..hehe oops its a joke k.
    The shadow knows...