Friday, April 05, 2013

PKR's final days in Sabah

Implosion. Today is the start of the end of Anwar's Parti Keadilan Rakyat in Sabah. Some would argue that Lahad Datu was the turning point but to me Ansari Abdullah's action today [Sabah PKR beats Anwar in naming candidates, FMT, 5 April] is the more telling sign that things are rotten within the party. Things are not going well with Anwar elsewhere, too, [for example, h e r e] but in Sabah his party is ready to i.m.p.l.o.d.e.

Sabah PKR beats Anwar in naming candidates
 | April 5, 2013
This is a test of whether the party leadership is sincere in its promise to give us autonomy, says Ansari Abdullah.

KOTA KINABALU: Sabah PKR, pre-empting any likely ‘hijacking’ by Kuala Lumpur, hurriedly announced its seven candidates for the state’s west coast region. 
Tuaran PKR chief Ansari Abdullah said Sabah PKR had “taken the liberty” of making the announcement based on an earlier promise by Pakatan Rakyat leaders, including Anwar Ibrahim, of giving “autonomy” for the state coalition’s decisions. 
He said the candidates were himself for Tuaran constituency and surgeon-activist-author Dr Chong Eng Leong for Sepanggar. 
Others were Mazhry Nasir (Putatan), Anthony Mandiau (Kota Marudu), Mursalim Tanjul (Kudat), Saidil Semoi (Kota Belud) and Johanathan Yassin (Ranau). 
When unveiling the list late yesterday in Sabah PKR headquarters in Penampang, Ansari said: “We have taken the liberty to release the names of the seven candidates that have been picked by the respective divisions. 
“This is a test of whether the party leadership is sincere in its promise to give us autonomy. We are very confident that the party will pass this test. 
“We are very confident that Anwar and the party leaderships of PAS and DAP will honour their commitment that matters involving Sabah will be decided by Sabahans. 
Also present were the seven ‘proposed’ candidates and other PKR divisional chiefs.
According to Ansari, the candidates had been identified as far back as two years ago, and their backgrounds had been “thoroughly vetted.” 
He added that the candidates’ respective divisions had also endorsed them. 

Widespread resentment
On possible disputes arising with Pakatan partners PAS and DAP over the candidates, Ansari said the seven divisions had taken a common stand and passed a resolution that “other Pakatan components and allies” should not contest in any of these seven constituencies. 
The consensus is seen as a direct response to seat demands by Pakatan’s new local allies Wilfred Bumburing’s APS Sabah and Lajim Ukin’s PPS. Both Bumburing and Lajim are former Barisan Nasional MPs who defected in July last year in support for Anwar. 
Anwar’s partiality towards them has triggered widespread resentment with the state’s original party members. Party members look at both Bumburing and Lajim with distrust and believe that they are the reasons why Pakatan has dismissed other local players. 
Said Ansari: “Wilfred said during the launch of APS, the purpose was not to fight for candidacy but to help the Pakatan. He also said APS will not take away PKR members… 
“Wilfred is my friend, he is an honourable man and I am sure he is a man of his words,” said Ansari. 
He said as far as PAS and DAP were concerned, it was a crystal clear situation.
“PAS did not contest any of these seven constituencies as such they have no right to contest. 
“DAP obtained lesser votes in Sepangar and Putatan; they even lost to PKR candidates. 
“Neither did they contest in any of the other five constituencies, so DAP should not also lodge any claim on these seven constituencies in the West Coast North Zone. 
“Therefore, all the seats should go to PKR. This is our stand,” he said adding that he was convinced that the Pakatan leadership was sincere and committed to their promise and collective pledge to honour political autonomy in Sabah.

11 comments:

1. Anonymous5:40 pm

What you talking About?

PKR did not have a presence in Sabah during the 2008 Elections.

Now they are present and moving forward!

What Final days are you dreaming Of?

THE FINAL DAYS OF SABAH AS BN'S FIXED DEPOSIT?!

Sabahan

2. Anonymous6:25 pm

Aiyoyo Rocky.... yg 'Final Days' tu adalah UMNO/BN !!

UMNO/BN tu kuat rasuah lagi mahu kasi undi sama dia ke ??

Kah...kah..kah....

3. Anonymous9:02 pm

Masaalah oooi kalo PKR menang kat sana!

Depa ni bole ke guarantee keselamatan Apek2 yg SEKALANG GITU BERSENANG LENANG macam nak mampos duk berniaga dan bercucuk tanam kat kawasan ceghok2 disana????

4. Anonymous12:47 am

vote for bn...its the best choice....

5. Anonymous8:33 am

I hope everything you've acquired for the past couple of years are already fully-paid for.

Your good times are in their final days.

6. Anonymous8:34 am

Choose wisely , vote for Better Nation.

7. Guys,

You obviously know nuts about Sabah politics. I won't claim to know everything that is happening there so that is why I rely on news from friends and the usual sources, including the bloggers there, and from Sabahkini, their leading website.

I suggest you guys do the same. At the very least, it'd make you cybertrooping a little more informed ...

8. Anonymous6:37 pm

Push ! Push ! Push hard ! Shove ! Shove ! Shove hard ! BN as led by the UMNO with the 14 component parties. A landslide victory awaits you !

9. Anonymous10:20 am

What you talking About?

PKR did not have a presence in Sabah during the 2008 Elections.

Now they are present and moving forward!

What Final days are you dreaming Of?

THE FINAL DAYS OF SABAH AS BN'S FIXED DEPOSIT?!

Sabahan

I bet this is your fitsr time voting arent you? no wonder so stupid. PKR did not have a presence in Sabah during 2008 elections? hahahaha...a moron is always a moron..shame on you!

fyi..i am sabahan too and i myself voted a PKR candidate last GE in hoping for a better CHANGE from PR.

Sabahan too (dulu PR skrg BN)

10. Anonymous8:33 pm

BN to bungkus after project M exposed Mamakthir's grand designs for sabah....

11. Anonymous8:49 pm

TAK AKAN BN SELAMA-LAMANYA

blue IC