Monday, August 18, 2008

Shafee: Raja Petra a coward, a common pariah

Stirring up a hornet's nest. Unlike Raja Petra Kamaruddin's previous "victims", Muhammad Shafee Abdullah, the prominent lawyer accused by the Malaysia Today editor as the "devil" behind a purported conspiracy against Anwar Ibrahim, is not taking RPK's allegations lying down.

During a press conference at his office in Kuala Lumpur yesterday, Shafee dared RPK to face him, in court, like a man. In a single press release, he called RPK, among other things:
"a coward"
"a common 'pariah'"
"one who hides behind the skirt of his wife"
"a common bankrupt"
"bankrupt of ideas and credibility"
"dishonest and reckless"
Shafee also described Malaysia Today, the website RPK runs, as a political "propaganda website" and that Raja Petra is its "chief puppet".
"Raja Petra is not a bona fide journalist or an independent news provider."

"Raja Petra does not practice an open blog site. He only publishes materials that support him. All other materials that are critical of him or condemn him are not published. He is not interested in an open debate for alternative views. His claim that his website is a source of independent news is total nonsense. Clearly this blogger is a coward and one that hides behind his blog ( and as you can see in court last Friday, one that hides behind his wife as well). Any so called “Royalty” (as Raja Petra claims himself to be) who indulges in publishing vulgar statements over and above being defamatory ought to be ashamed of himself as his behaviour evidenced in the blog site is that of a common “pariah”."
Read Shafee's press release in full (thanks, Big Dog) here.

Has RPK abused blog freedom and basic decency with his articles on Shafee? Some people frown at the way RPK writes but that he has a large following proves that people love the stuff he has been dishing out. Raja Petra's strength lies in developing a readable story based on a bit of facts and a lot of opinions (and he's willing to go down defending what he writes). But that is also what has gotten him into trouble repeatedly with the law. His followers believe that RPK has the evidence to back what he writes but so far Raja Petra has yet to come out with the evidence.

Shafee is a prominent lawyer and member of the society. Even if he wasn't, Shafie is entitled to defend his honor. The intensity of his response to RPK's attacks is frightening. He isn't going after just RPK, he is setting a precedence by going after the commenters in Malaysia Today who have defamed him as well.

He said he was lodging a police report against RPK and the commenters for: (a) Criminal Defamation; (b) Sedition under the Sedition Act 1948; (c) Offences under the Penal Code for vulgarities; (d) Offences under the Communications and Multimedia Act 1998; and (e) Printing Presses and Publication Act 1984.

I have been sued myself by the NSTP and 4 of its officials who claimed that I have defamed them on my blog. Nearly 20 months have passed by and my case is on-going. My lawyers told me that the TRUTH is the best defence against defamation suit. I can run to the court of public opinion to win my fight, but in the end it is still in the court of law that I must defend myself and clear my name.

updates:
Sue me, Shafee tells RPK (NST, 18/8/2008)

98 comments:

1. Rocky bro,

A sort of "Rebuttal" by RPK perhaps?

2. I can understand anyone's ire and anger at being maligned. Shafie has the right to rebuttal & disclaim. He also has the right to sue for slander.

But why does he assume that the discerning reader will believe everything published ?

I am sure lots of readers also read MT & LOTS of other blogs to give them a "balanced view".

It is our choice to turn to MT & other feeds for another view than what is fed to me by the Mainstream media.

IF our mainstream media were any better ie objective and unbiased, there would be little need for reliance on MT to "tell the truth".

And what constitutes defamation when one is a Public Figure?

Is Shafie a public figure (as you say he is a prominent society figure)?

By becoming a public figure is one a target at open season?

I wouldn't be surprised this would become a landmark case against bloggers

3. Anonymous3:01 pm

Apa erti `banyak pengikut' kalau pi mahkamah sorang-sorang? Apa erti pungpang-pungpang (kecoh) tapi mati sorang-sorang? Hero kah namanya? Orang meluat dan menyampah makin menjadi-jadi pada Raja Petra sebab tuduh semua orang boleh tuduh tapi kalau bukti tarak... apa pun tarak guna. Kredibiliti jatuh. MERUDUMMMM... Orang baca Malaysian Today sama macam orang banyak MASTIKA. Untuk hiburan semata-mata.

Tugau Kuching

4. Anonymous3:15 pm

Truth as the best defence? I'd rather opt to be judged by the court of public opinion at this time since the debable of the Judiciary since 1988. Not the laws of the Land. And for good reasons too.
    malsia1206

5. Bro, at last "bertemu buku dengan ruas". I congratulate Mr Shafee for coming out in public to defend himself and give RPK a piece of his mind.

Its about time someone did.

6. Anonymous3:33 pm

Wow. The title itself.. man....

7. Anonymous3:34 pm

I think RPK this time has gone too far.While I respect and uphold the principle of freedom of expression by media,bloggers,lawmakers etc,we neeed to set our own limit what we say or write and not merely stating something based on hearsay or emotion only.For me Shafee had done the right thing to defend his honour and intergrity.
    Bob From Kuching

8. Anonymous3:39 pm

bro. rupa-rupanya RPK ni dah diisytihar bangkrap! patutlah tulisannya penuh dgn `kebangkrapan,'
    liar & tidak bertanggungjawab
    go shafee go!

-lanun suci-

9. Anonymous3:40 pm

Shark-fee doesn't have honour, so what's the honour that he should defend? Sheesh! You amaze me.

10. Anonymous3:43 pm

What can we expect from this man? He is going to prison anyway sooner. Better he make some riots and make ways for his master ANWAR to take the helm of PM. I guess by the end of the day his supporters will be mocking on the streets, just like his master's supporter did.

11. Anonymous3:44 pm

bloggers are important in these new age. But that doesn't give them blank cheque to spread slender and lies. He need to be responsible and accontable of what he is writing. I salute penarik becha for admitting his mistakes about the creast and standing tall for his article.

But RPK is a whole different matter. You old enough to think about the plausibility of his article and his self-concious in writing it.

12. Anonymous3:45 pm

as rpk pointed out, under the sedition charge, it does not matter if it's the truth or not.

so what does one do? keep silent after knowing the truth, or say it out?

13. Anonymous3:46 pm

If he has honour and is angry because that he was "insulted", what did he do? Didn't he descend to a new level? He is not only immoral but outrightly nefarious. I think there is need for what "honour" means to be known unless of course Big Dog and his ilk have come with a new definition. Interesting indeed!

14. Rocky,

In fairness, RPK should be libel on what he write, if he is a gentleman he should accept Dato Shafee invitation.

Berani Kerana Benar, don't you know that on many occassion, I tried to give my comment in his blog but was rejected.

He say that, he is a fair person but he only publish comments alligned or supporting his perceptions or thinking.

He is no here no there, RPK is more of a syok sendiri...., do not listen to others,

I think he is very sick,...susah-susah beri aje jawatan kat dia....., menteri penerangan pakatan rakyat... tengok-berbuih tak mulut dia....dengan beeer. kalau berani sue, I have the proof he is a beer drinker and he claims he is a true muslim......

15. Bro Ahiruddin Attan,

I don't think, there will be any rebuttal from RPK. Well, as Datuk Shafee has clearly mentioned that, RPK being a bankrupt, he has nothing to lose in term of monetary, well he can tell you that he is the grandson of a Sultan and he dares to tell all sort of lies as gimmick to become popular-same with DSAI.

As a Malaysian and a muslim, I am ashamed of his behaviour.

16. Anonymous4:06 pm

Shafee the mamak is bluffing lah. He want to go after those who planted comments in RPK's piece ? Who is going to supply him with the identities ? If he does get the identities right, then it only goes to show his position within the government hierarchy.

17. Anonymous4:16 pm

anybody lost a doggie?

18. Anonymous4:16 pm

This is crazy! RPK started the fire and we are fighting bush fire now!

Undefeatable flame!

I wish RPK win so that Msia stand a chance to be UNITED!

19. Anonymous4:19 pm

RPK is seriously a liar and a propagandist! Anyone who reads his blog will surely agree with me that his so called news is very VERY biased. Lets put him in jail already.

20. Let there be hunger for truth
    So none need go up the roof
    To go in search of the proof
    To prove one is telling the truth

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng - 180808
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Mon. 18th Aug. 2008.

21. Anonymous4:52 pm

A common bankrupt and a common pariah?

Who are the uncommons ones then?

22. Anonymous4:55 pm

Do Shafee know what " pariah " means? Why that man has to use the word " pariah " Ask him to mind his word.What's the difference he is...Never use that word "pariah" pariah......

23. bro,
    Since Shafee referred RPK as "a common 'pariah'" and so called “Royalty” (as Raja Petra claims himself )" and if RPK is indeed a royality and is really related to our KING, does that mean Shafee is refering to our beloved King by that same name too ??

24. Anonymous5:04 pm

Some folks, when under stress, will resort to peeling away the elegenace they claim to have and then behave as a 'pariah', 'coward' etc.

Education, experience and previous rubbing of shoulders with the rich and famous all go down the drain under such situations.

The characters in this drama are no better/different.

We ordinary folks see TV dramas less nowadays, as there is so much better 'episodes' happening in real life.

Hey but wait...We still have to cari makan!

Let this be just an entertainment part, and we carry on looking after our periok nasi....instead of taking sides with these people.

25. Anonymous5:04 pm

Some folks, when under stress, will resort to peeling away the elegenace they claim to have and then behave as a 'pariah', 'coward' etc.

Education, experience and previous rubbing of shoulders with the rich and famous all go down the drain under such situations.

The characters in this drama are no better/different.

We ordinary folks see TV dramas less nowadays, as there is so much better 'episodes' happening in real life.

Hey but wait...We still have to cari makan!

Let this be just an entertainment part, and we carry on looking after our periok nasi....instead of taking sides with these people.

SIMPLE SIMON

26. Talk about name calling eh? This Shafee guy wins it hands down.

If I were RPK, wouldn't worry much. This guy Shafee is known within the legal circle as one whose bark is worse than his bite.

27. "Shafie is a prominet lawyer and member of the society."

Bro Rocky,

He has just dropped himself from the status you mentioned above to a new low, with the way the press release was written.

I have even more respect for RPK now because of that.

28. Anonymous5:26 pm

Is RPK this time gonna sue shafeee for defamation, vulagrities, slander and blatant lies. under whateva shit criminal code available?

J

29. He knows what he's doing. Or he doesn't know what he's doing. So far he hasn't been in trouble big enough that could land him in jail. Does it mean he knows something that people are afraid of? Maybe. Maybe not. I won't know for sure.

30. Anonymous5:36 pm

rpk has lost my respect rocky, he was seen sharing the same platform as anwar and pkr. his credibility therefore can be put into question. rpk is open to criticism as long as it criticises those whom he want to criticise. I've stopped reading his blog months ago. Shafee is teh right man to put RPK in his place.

31. Anonymous5:38 pm

I gave up reading RPK's blog quite sometime ago as I figured he was basing a lot of his 'facts' on water cooler chit chat. Shouldn't such scurrilous postings be 'censored'? I mean, he never backs up his postings with proof. He's always declaring that his sources are some higher up close friends. I won't be surprised if in future he cites a prominent President of some developed country as his source of information. Pitiful.
    EK

32. Anonymous5:38 pm

I don't know about you, but to me the court of public opinion is far more reliable and genuine than the Malaysian court. As you would know, our judiciary's rating is among the worst among the civilized nations. And judging from the talk around town and the variety of blogs, RPK is winning BIG time against Mr Shafee bin Abdullah.

33. Anonymous5:40 pm

Anon 5.40pm

1 comment since the article was posted at 11.40am?? Sad case Msians...

34. Assalamualaikum Saudara Rocky,

BUKU bertemu RUAS, kata orang dulu dulu...

35. Why would RPK want to write something about Shafee when Shafee is a well known and rich lawyer? RPK knows very well that Shafee will not take this lying down. Something must have made RPK to stir the hornet's nest.

This is interesting. Real drama.

36. Anonymous6:10 pm

ROCKY ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS I POSTED COMMENTS CONTRARY TO HIS OPINIONS BUT SAD TO SAY HE DID NOT PUBLISH THEM IN HIS WEBSITE. TO ME RPK IS ONE SIDED IN HIS VIEWS AND OPINIONS AND THAT IS DANGEROUS BECAUSE I BELIEVE HE HAS A HUGE FOLLOWING. I THINK ROCKY THOSE WHO TEND TO BELIEVE HIM BLINDLY WILL DISCOVER SOON FOR THEMSELVES WHETHER RPK IS A CREDIBLE BLOGGER OR OTHERWISE. THE TRUTH IS THE BEST DEFENCE, LIKE YOU SAID. I COULD NOT AGREE MORE ROCKY.

THE WAY RPK WAS GOING ABOUT DEMONISING NAJIB WAS WAY OVER THE TOP AND YET HE HAS BEEN SEEN SUPPORTING.

I TEND TO SUPPORT MY FRIEND'S THEORY THAT RPK WAS OUT TO CARVE A REPUTATION AS A CREDIBLE BLOGGER BEFORE LAUNCHING HIS OWN CRUSADE TO INSTALL ANWAR AS THE PRIME MINISTER! IT'S A PSYCHE WAR THAT IS BEGINNING TO TAKE ITS TOLL ON MANY. MANY HAVE BECOME VICTIMS TO HIS DEFAMATORY AND INFLAMMATORY REMARKS....I HOPE ROCKY YOU DO NOT TAKE THIS PATH...

37. Anonymous6:18 pm

Bru rocky, I must say I can imagine what Shafee is going through. He's not alone, Bro.

There are many more individuals who have suffered the same fate going under RPK's so-called objective analysis.

RPK boasted he has evidence to back him up but where are they? Be upfront about i, if he is truthful, or is he subscribing to Anwar Ibrahim's modus operandi - cast aspersions, create doubts to tarnish people's reputations without basis just to serve his political purposes?

RPK, Rocky, must not be allowed to BERMAHARAJALELA. He's a Raja of blue blood who has no decorum. He's an anarchist and a banktrupt.

If RPK is a man of his words, prove to us the conspiracy of sodomy against Anwar Ibrahim was conjured in Shafee's office. Like Shafee said, the CCTV could prove whether there was any plans hatched in that room...

To me RPK is just a chap who likes to fantasise, and his stories are all a figment of his imagination...

but what i'm afraid is that he has managed to sow the seeds of discord, doubts and hatred among his viewers...

let's call his bluff, people.

38. Anonymous6:22 pm

they say, what goes around comes around.

it's time for RPK to have a taste of his own medicine.

q. Has RPK abused blog freedom and basic decency with his articles on Shafee?

a. yes and no... yes if he's bluffing and no if he's not.

although, in this instance, I think he is... just bluffing, that is.

but, in typical RPK fashion, he's going to spin this and go down as a hero... by not naming his sources... there's not any, to begin with.

I think the guy's been watching too many Hollywood movies and he's lost touch with reality... yup, he's lost it!

see what happens when one supports an unrepentant homosexual... God hates you.

when God hates you... first, He makes you mad.

then... you stay mad!

39. Anonymous6:25 pm

versedanggerik,

it's not about shafee's repute in the legal circle. the issue here girl is that rpk has accused shafee of being a tool in the perceived conspiracy and alleged sodomy against anwar ibrahim.

shafee did not resort to name calling. all the words he mentioned are in teh dictionary, girl...

but if you have been following rpk's blog, then you will be intelligent enough to see whether he resorts to bad-mouthing using abusive language...

shafee has the right to defend himself and his honour. i would too under the same circumstances. it is about time someone stood up to rpk's malicious lies

40. Anonymous6:35 pm

Please inform the Dalits [or Untouchables] of India that they have been slurred by a Malaysian lawyer Mohd Shafee Abdullah.

Spread the news to India and see what happens.

And this slur has come from, of all people, an person of Indian origin too.

Persona non grata to India for this lawyer!

41. Anonymous6:36 pm

whatever it is, lets be clear on this case once and for all.
    this case must be settled for the good of everybody.

in fairness to the bloggers, there are those who are credible but there are also victims of defamation.

you must agree rocky there are some bloggers who go beyond human decency and their writings border on defamation and that no way individuals can defend themselves against wild allegations and accusations.

i suggest rocky the same set of laws that apply to publication be applied to the cyberworld.

in the long run it will be good for all of us including you, rocky.

imagine rocky you being defamed? if you were being fitnah, how would you take it?

and if someone who keeps on fitnah-ing people can get away with murder, it is time to put a stop to it.

42. Anonymous6:41 pm

not cool shafee,,not cool,,is this how lawyer talk??i though they smart

43. Desperadoes will resort to dramatic lies to influence opinions.

They believe that if you keep on lying long enough, SOME people will start to believe you.

44. Anonymous7:17 pm

RPK never responsible of what he has writing. He brought shame to blogging. When someone made a crime such as rape, sodomy, or murder.. he must be brought to justice. why should we treat RPK different?

45. Anonymous7:27 pm

Yo Mr President,

As a blogger, Raja Petra's integrity has been challenged when Shafee Abdullah came out strongly against the three articles and sued the former. It is only gentleman that Raja Petra face the music and tell all in court.

Raja Petra should do the right thing.

If Raja Petra is right, then its a moral obligation for bloggers like ourselves to rally behind and walk with him.

But if he is wrong, then we all should loathe and spurn him like a rabid dog. He will disgrace this alternative media fraternity, now beginning to earn its place amongst society of literates and IT savvy.

46. First, thank you, Rocky, for posting this. It gives me the ordinary man in the street a chance to voice out my dismay at the things I see posted in blogs. Some are truly damaging. And what recourse is there to fight back?

I say go, Shafee, go. It's time someone stood up to this kind of nonsense. People yell so much about freedom of expression and all. But it seems to me I can just open up a blog and call someone all kinds of name under the sun without offering any kind of evidence to substantiate it.
    Yeah, I read MT now and then. But what surprises me equally is the toadying reaction from enslaved fans. Eg. "you are our hero, saviour of the nation. etc. I mean truly.
    I can't remember exactly which posting it was, but I think the one when RPK was trumpeting the Pusrawi report was a fine example of defaming a small man who can't fight back. In that posting, he even attacked the uncle of that boy saiful calling him auntie/uncle and (if memory serves) even suggested that it was the uncle who did it! I thought it was unfair? And guess what? This even gets picked up and discussed in the more respectable blogs?Does this uncle have right of reply? If I were this chap, I'd dot RPK one on the nose.
    Take the latest posting in "Inventing new religious rituals". He named Dr Asri (the mufti of Perlis) as one of those who questioned the Saiful oath. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think it was this mufti who suggested it first. So you see, even a simple fact like that RPK can muff it.
    Mainstream media have come under so much flak for not publishing or following up whatever RPK writes. Can you imagine if they do? They'd be sued their pants off.
    Enough said.
    Rocky, thank you for the space. Best wishes to you and blog with fairness.

47. Anonymous7:47 pm

Saudara Brew,

“Kita-kan serumpun pak…”
    Whatever that means, am told that would be the most appropriate response towards postings on Indonesian music over airwaves.
    Enough said about it cause the local music scene, it would seem, leaves much to be desired.
    And it would also seem whatever body representing welfare and development of the industry should look within, cause they shot themselves in the foot a long time ago.
    Does one realise what the entertainment industry in Singapore is…? Even famed Malaysian musicians earn a living there.
    Today, the MSM had it portrayed well what with the debacle over that famed hip twister Inul – if that wasn’t thumbin ones’ nose, don’t know what is!.
    After two no “allowed” shows… she heaves, puffs, heaves and shouts from within a diplomatic enclave. There’s never a (moral) cop around when you need one!!!
    So what if a (Malaysian at that) promoter lost a hefty bundle as claimed. Who gives a ratz arze!
    None of these self proclaimed guardians could do a damn whiff about it, rather dare do a thing about it.
    The moral police should have taken a cue from the recent Bar Council gathering… then they could have achieved something.
    There is this other episode when a hotel lounge bar gets raided.
    Rather than question authorities over their right in carrying out their duties diligently, what does come to mind is do they have the right to “halau” Mat Sallehs from patronising an establishment.
    By all means, carry out the checks and bring to book whoever may have offended you but the audacity to order patrons of no consequence to events unfolding, to leave the premises.
    Wonders what are ones’ rights in situations like this.
    While on the subject of rights, an ol’ chum from Down Under just buzzed me about solicitors, barristers, advocate… the RPK saga.
    Was told of an article posted on news portal last September over military purchases and how commissions were allegedly paid to Malaysians.
    It was narrated how when MSM reported on the purchases, they were allegedly threatened/reminded/advised (choice of words) of Malaysia’s Official Secrets Act, hence no article followed suit.
    No prizes for guessing which legal advocate pulled out that hare from the hat… As the chum narrated, par excellence coup of gag on the media.
    It would seem that MSM panel of solicitors have yet to set aside that order… go figure!!!
    On a serious note, one can only wonder what and how has RPK got him so riled that he is resorting to these measures.
    And this name calling of the Royals, may it be suggested that until Malaysians deem themselves to be responsible conscientious citizens, only then have they earned the right to question whether they should remain subjects of a king or queen.
    Till date, calls for the abolition of the British Royal household echoes over the Thames, but there’s always two sides and protectors of the seal do not go around assaulting press photographers.

Sekadar diPinggiran

48. Anonymous8:13 pm

Yes indeed, the TRUTH is the best defence. And to all Bloggers, "Dont play Gods" and to all commenters "be responsible, or face the music"

49. Anonymous8:29 pm

I WONDER WHO IS A REAL PARIAH?

50. Anonymous9:34 pm

People enjoy a story. tell them the truth and they don't want it. Tell them a tall tale and the lap it up.

RPK is a master story teller. He sprinkles some facts and details and weaves an entertaining story. Sad thing is many people actually believe him.

He gets information ( truth or otherwise) and spins it into a story. And some people don't want to question him because he has a large readership.

And like you said, he has not come out with any evidence. If he or Anwar have anything in the form of evidence against the BN, isn't it the right time to release it?

Its a pity his supporters never ask where is RPK getting the funding to run his blog full time. And his style of repeating passages is a subtle way of making sure his point sticks with the reader. Propaganda at its best!

Avtaran

51. Anonymous10:15 pm

Is the Breach of Proffessional etique here?
    Tak cool lah Bro?

52. Anonymous10:32 pm

my god, he lose his temper

zamri sunway semenyih

53. Anonymous11:03 pm

Hi Rocky

I still don't understand why the people are still talking about Malaysia Today. To me its just a blog, you don't like it - you can just click away. Same for the hardcopy media, you don't like it you don't buy, neither you need to read. So what's the fuss.......

Let the bloggers say what they want. Let the mainstream media say what they want. Afterall its my silly head that is reading it - isn't it

54. Anonymous11:21 pm

'Love your Enemy,make him go crazy'

-Chinese Proverb.

55. Anonymous12:28 am

Woh RPK, you are the best.
    Go and take him on in court!
    Show him the truth and humble him!
    You are the Great Royal RPK, Balls of Steel!

RPKWhyAreYouStandingBEhindTHatWoman?

56. Anonymous3:44 am

RPK is a waste of time.

Just like his boss, they're just clown these days.

Just read RPK writings and listen to his boss speeches.

Entertainment. not much substance.

RPK gave blogger a bad name.

MM

57. Malaysia Today's fans are angry, and continues to post vile comments against Shafee. We are still waiting for Petra's own response.

http://jurublog.blogspot.com/2008/08/shafees-dare-riles-petras-supporters.html

58. For whatever it's worth RPK has balls; No one in modern Malaysia has the audacity to write like him.

Lets wait and see who is the real pariah and has integrity.

59. Anonymous7:54 am

Thank goodness Bro , you really learnt your lesson well!! I fully agreed with you, once it become a court case , you have to defend yourself in the court and no amount of public support or outcry can help because the court will only accept FACTS nothing but FACTS. You can write anything under the sun but not to defame others, to redicule one's religious belief or to attack the monarchy! What more when you are relying not on facts but unaunthenciated 'truths'.

So Bro, you are on right track now, and I feel our friend is really in deep, deep trouble!!!

Lover of truth

60. Anonymous7:57 am

Saya kurang paham ungkapan ni ' common paraiah'. Ada un common paraiah ke? di tganu,dulu BN guna ungkapan NATANG.

Even Zimbawe Ahead of Malaysia (EZAM)

61. Anonymous9:00 am

to me...he got balls and many malaysians dont have that! so let the man handle the situation.. we all are good at talking in blog not in real life...

62. /// solo9 said...
    When someone made a crime such as rape, sodomy, or murder.. he must be brought to justice. why should we treat RPK different? ///

solo9, pray tell us, what crime did RPK commit?
    a) Rape,
    b) Sodomy, or
    c) Murder?

63. Anonymous9:32 am

WHAT DO YOU EXPECT FROM A LOW LIFE LIKE RPK WHO MADE AN SD ACCUSING ROSMAH WAS THERE DURING THE MURDER OF ALTANTUYA BUT COULD NOT EVEN PROVE IT.

SIMPLY ACCUSING PEOPLE LEFT RIGHT N CENTRE IS SO STUPID. RPK IS VERY INTELLIGENT BUT IS SO STUPID AT THE SAME TIME BECAUSE HE THINKS MOST PEOPLE CAN BE FOOLED BY HIS FICTIONAL STORIES.

JUST CHARGE HIM IN COURT. IF HE DOESN'T WANT TO APPEAR FOR HIS OWN TRIALS, JUST THROW HIM IN JAIL FOR 20 YEARS. NOBODY CARES ANYWAY.

THE LAW IS THE LAW AND THIS MINOR ROYALTY SHOULD NOT BE EXEMPTED.

-JEREMY-

64. Anonymous9:42 am

Hi Rocky
    No matter how angry we may be we show ourselves a gentlemen by being the better person in such situations... No our dear so called respected man of the robes descended himself to the canine level of the other canine he was cursing.
    One can tell the truth or lie in whatever language one chooses... in this case, he chose to be in the same muck as rpk.
    Why call a press conference to further defend your case if you know for certain you are telling the truth. It's like the present fiasco affecting BolehLand, the more you explain, the more unconvincing you become. Take the cue from our leaders... Swear with the holy book or in the house of God... everything kau tim... the rest leave to the court to prove what God has witnesses you and believed that you are telling the 'truth'.
    Many who are victimised don't have the privilege of the MSM or a powerful political party or call press conferences and get bias reporting to support whatever agenda you have.
    YOu have filed the suit, and if you are on the side that believed in judicary, ask for a speedy hearing and sue the pants off rpk... and to sue those who wrote comments is like suing newsreaders who read a 'defametory' article and indulged in coffeeshop or teh tarik gossip. Does it mean you also hurl up the mamak shop because the mamak provided the venue for people to gossip!!!
    How many press conference would you want to call to prove your guilt or are you going to sue me for commenting on making a defamatory statement about your choice of words?

65. Anonymous10:31 am

wow!another fight!
    among us?
    why not fight for our economy?

makanmaggi

66. Salam abg Rocky,

Actually last time im one of the fan of RPK becoz of his openess, a bit of balance and of coz our common target is the incapable of Pak PM and SIL. But nowdays MT is more likely a PKR website anything for PKR is so holy and people should accept blindly. Plus the have the rating on comments which anyone who support the 16th Sept PM will be rated so highly and for those who supporting the goverment personal will be rated negatively with abusive comment from the MT's fanatic.

But lately RPK has a lost of credibility becoz his posted blogs are so bias....and plus fantasy which beyond the imigination which unable to fight in the court. If RPK really responsible with this article please take shafee challenge. Even though im not much like the arrogance of lawyers in Bar Council but Im still backing Shafee to defend his honor and the right to use the word of using 'Pariah' which is more modest than use the word 'FXXkER' or AXXXXXLE'.

67. hahahahaha....Calling RPK a coward is a joke!!
    But then ....Saiful's Uncle Pet also challenge RPK to any galankang he chooses for a fight?
    I guess...the ghost month is not good for RPK......hahahahahahaha
    He should go to a pokok and offer some samsu and cheap cigars...to bribe the hungry ghosts...to help him....give his 'enemies' some sickness to shut their mouths.
    Did I not hear Uncle Pet was not feeling well?
    Hope he get well soon. This man is not one...to messed around!!
    But so is RPK...hahahahahahaha
    "Gunfight at OK Coral".wonderful exciting cowboy movies.
    Here we have.."Silat at any gelankang"..coming soon? NO way....RPK machais are by the thousands...upfront...before he goes they allow their hero...RPK..goes into action...........hahahahaha

68. After reading your past few articles,it is confirmed that you are a supporter of Mahathir and you support the sodomy charges.

How you do this? You plant subtle thoughts in readers that "imply" that RPK is wrong and Anwar is a sodomizer.

Where's your conscience? Since when did you begin to take the side of evil?

69. Loken PaL-aNi-SaM-y said...

"For whatever it's worth RPK has balls; No one in modern Malaysia has the audacity to write like him.

Lets wait and see who is the real pariah and has integrity."
    ------------------------------------

LOKEN!

I agree with you that RPK has balls when fighting in the courts of public opinion, but the question is, does he have the same courage when the fight is taken to a court of law? And more importantly, lest we forget, it is not RPK's 'cajones 'that is in question,but rather whether he is telling the truth vis a vis, Shafiee.

If RPK truly has the courage of his convictions,and the courage of his articles accusation, than he should not only accept Shafii's challenge but welcome it!After all, if he is telling the truth than he has nothing to fear for the courts are the best venue to prove it.

And that is the beauty of settling disputes in a court of law.

In its hollowed chambers, RPK does not need balls on his side.

He merely needs truth.

70. Anonymous11:52 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OhemLJj87_A

Sad

71. Anonymous1:31 pm

Rocky & gangs, Don't be too serious. Enjoy this.

Subject: THREE VIRGIN DAUGHTERS

A Mother had 3 virgin daughters.

They were all getting married within a short time period. Because Mom was a bit worried about how their sex life would get started, she made them all promise to send a postcard from the honeymoon with a few words on how marital sex felt.

The first girl sent a card from Hawaii two days after the wedding. The card said nothing but: "Nescafe"!

Mom was puzzled at first, but then went to her kitchen and got out the Nescafe jar.

It said: "Good till the last drop".

Mom blushed, but was pleased for her daughter.

The second girl sent the card from Vermont a week after the wedding, and the card read: "Rothmans"

Mom now knew to go straight to her husband's cigarettes, and she read from the pack: "Extra Long. King Size"

She was again slightly embarrassed but still happy for her daughter.

The third girl left for her honeymoon in Cape Town. Mom waited for a week, nothing. Another week went by and still nothing. Then after a whole month, a card finally arrived.

Written on it with shaky handwriting were the words "South African Airways"

Mom took out her latest YOU magazine, flipped through the pages fearing the worst, and finally found the ad for SAA.

The ad said: "Ten times a day, seven days a week, both ways."
    Mom fainted.

frm: ciplak

72. Brother Anwar Ibrahim better be cautious of Raja Petra .....Cave canem, te necet lingendo!

73. Anonymous1:45 pm

hmm--very disturbing!

RPK has always stated that he has tons of proofs, now that he has been challenged, will he provide these proofs?

Is RPK really a bankrupt and what about the RM 4 million suit that he lost? Can we get RPK to explain this.

The challenge by this Shafie guy would bring down RPK and MT credibility unless RPK does something to restore such credibilty. It's really unlike RPK to be quiet when people called him coward. I remember reading his "bowie knife" story at Putra Jaya where he wrote about his courage.

Need him to restore his honour otherwise people start to believe this Shafie guy - to open or not to onen MT blog...sigh.

74. Anonymous3:13 pm

I'm referring to the last paragraph, Ahirudin.

Hope you don't mind me using your I/C name which I'm more familiar and am at ease with; for this was the name that I was given to call at Jalan Riong concerning some sports story in the mid-90's. And it was this name that I had uttered in the phone - heart thumping, but trying to pretend that "I do this every day".

[Puzzled by this sentence, Rocky tries for 2 seconds to try remember "who this nut is; among the hundreds that he had come across. Wisely decides that it's a futile effort with almost zero value, and goes on to read the next sentence.] :-)

Actually, I'm rather heartened to know that you're realistic and practical enough - of not banking on and placing your entire hope on that Truth will prevail line.

Although your particular case is technically and legally different, I might have some idea on how you feel for I've been involved with court cases before. At least you're not living with the nagging fear of being incarcerated at the end, should things swing the other way.

Ever since getting an Internet connection last month, I've been doing my homework ... digging up bits of this and that to be better informed.

(That's also the reason why I had sent comments on the Rehman Rashid piece here 17 months late.)

Since you're not allowed to discuss the articles related to the case, I searched around for them to decide for myself. Thanks to links at Susan Loone's blog, I finally know what it's all about.

On reading your last sentence in this post, something welled up inside my chest - a mixture of anger, indignation, and a bit of outrage and vengeance too ... against the bast#r!s who have manipulated the legal system to harass.

I pray to Allah for His swift retribution on the arrogant.

Best of luck, Ahirudin.

75. Anonymous3:36 pm

I used to believe and enjoy reading RPK's articles in MT. But lately, Im beginning to disbelieve and despise it. The language he uses is really not befitting of an elderly man of royal blood with a seemingly decent wife and with daughters at that!! Datuk Shafiee was right in using the word pariah for him , didnt RPK use the word sodomologist or something like that for Datuk Shafie? Really vulgar old man this RPK. Lately, his article seems to slowly and surely show that he is fantasizes a lot as he writes, repeats the same thing again and again macam dia syok sendiri and mighty happy with himself!! Serious, I believe he has some psychological problem and gets a kick out of writing rubbish. MT is all about him and all the commentors ( always the same commentors yang percaya RPK bulat2 all the time) posting in more vulgarities and rubbish. Ive stopped reading the rot. SIZZLING STEAK

76. Anonymous3:42 pm

Let me very be frank with you. There are over thousands of bloggers in Malaysia. Not all of them win our hearts and respects. Very few of them including you and RPK are my favourites. Like others I have my reason for liking you guys.
    You have your opinion. Most of your opinions or articles are mild, probably because that’s how you were trained during your days with MSMs, being very cautious.
    In RPK’s case it is different. He speaks the mind of his readers with information and evidence he obtains from the various sources who trust him more than themselves. He gives them his word that he would never reveal unless they want him to do so. His readers are the ordinary Malaysians who find life not easy and in some ways believe this government is responsible for it.
    We must understand. Being a person in his status, it was not necessary for one to risk his comfort and luxury in life. What is he going to benefit personally out this battles? One must not forget, he is talking against the government and its leaders who will not have second thoughts to “finish” your good life if you are a threat to them. Remember what had landed a powerful DPM at one time into and what he is going through.
    Unlike in some other countries, Malaysia is in full control by one party that is led by few powerful Malays. They have the money, power and most importantly positions. People who are privy to their secrets are often afraid to reveal the truths for fear of being victimized. While some are silenced while others come out, responding to the conscience and in doing so they need people like RPK to confide in. Therefore, RPK cannot turn betrayer who point finger at them just to save himself.
    I sincerely believe he is one of the few Malaysians who are prepared to bid his own life for the sake of country and the people of Malaysia. He is actually a hero.
    The only fear I have is, his Deep Throats try to fix or trap him with untruthful stories that could jeopardize his credibility.

suresh

77. Anonymous4:33 pm

I won't dismiss RPK quite so quickly.

commenter st andrews,

Wasn't trial by media, casting aspersions and slander the stock in trade of the persecutors when Anwar was first charged? Remember the mattress incident?

Now why if RPK plays the same game, he is reviled? Shafee wants to fight, let him fight. If he is the victim of slander, he CAN seek redress in court.

But to call RPK names makes Shafee every bit of a common pariah as he charges RPK as.

BTW, common pariah is also a racial slur.

I dun agree with a lot of things RPK says. And I say it in my comments. I've yet to be censored.

78. Anonymous4:49 pm

After all, if he is telling the truth than he has nothing to fear for the courts are the best venue to prove it.

-kesu

79. After reading MT for the past 15 months , i can say that a good 80 % of what RPK wrote was real.
    The remanding 20 % are his own herbs and spices of his style of presentation.
    Some say that RPK don't have any single piece of evidence.
    But on many occasions MT have ALL the pieces.
    Bear in mind that it was RPK and his MT that exposes saifool's medical checkup at puswari.
    You can accuse RPK as a non journalistic person , but you can't deny that RPK have those pieces in hand which all the journalist do not possess.

Shafee , we will see you in court

80. Anonymous5:33 pm

@Mat Rempit Hubris,Carthage 11:36 AM

"In its hollowed chambers, RPK does not need balls on his side.
    He merely needs truth.

Mat R: This only applies in a just and ideal world, unfortunately.
    During certain times and places - especially with `certain judges' and `certain witnesses' - truth becomes secondary, no matter how many gunny sacks one has.

If "truth" is equated with and translated into "light that shines", mirrors will be placed to deflect it away ...

... by the likes of people as exemplified by your A.G. Patail prosecutor-cum-budding-fiction-writer,...

... Azizan-the-driver who insisted a lorry had rammed into his `Toyota Corolla GL big-bumper',...

... and Augustine-certainly-not-august-judge Paul & Ripin-Ripley-believe-it-or-not-I-MESTI-find-guilty truth-TAK-KIRA Jaka.

81. Anonymous5:53 pm

Something that I find rather odd when it comes to those choosing Anonymous as identity:

Guano malah benar puok-puok ni - nok tuleh gapo-gapo hok lain pado `Anonymous' ni tok leh! Boh la `kambing' ka, `ayae' ko, `kubau' ko.

Ni dok!... hok tuuu-u-u-u jaa. Walhal nulih komen tu buleh buak panjae pulok!

82. Anonymous6:40 pm

RPK graduated from Perak Tanjung Rambutan if you care to check...So no case against him anyway,his mental lapse could recur over and over.....

83. RPK hanya harap Anwar jadi PM untuk membersihkan dosa dosanya dan membayar pengorbanannya dengan harga setimpal kerana membela Anwar dan memburukkan lawan Anwar.

Kita berharap begitu, tapi nyata Anwar dan RPK tenggelam bersama, perjuangan yang bebal..

84. Anonymous7:38 pm

Agak kecewa blog ini tidak lagi netral. Semakin nyata berat sebelahnya.

-Nobody's puppet

85. Anonymous8:06 pm

This lauyar Shofie is a liar who's main job is to defend the corrupted UMENO crooks. A mamak turned Malay thinks he is smarter than anyone else. RPK is no fool like lauyer Shofie. He is armed with information where no layman can lay hand. Shofie is now as good as dead and he knows that the curtain is down and the can of worms is opened. I support RPK because he speaks the truth and the truth hurts the crooked Shofie

Marcuswellbe

86. Anonymous8:10 pm

let me put this squarely to you in a short sentence :

" I trust what RPK writes than what you trying to insinuate "

winterwolf

87. Cendana!

An imperfect court of law is still a far better and fairer place to be tried, than in the animal den that is the comment section of Mlaysia Today.

Anyway, which of the following do u think is fairer and more just?

RPK's act of dragging Shafee's name thru shit to be tried in his own backyard by a jury of his blind supporters or Shafee's act of challenging RPK in a court of law?Ceteris peribus, under the circumstances who do you think is being more fair to whom?

Additionally, if u had read Shafee's media statement carefully u would have realize that Shafee had anticiapted the possibility of RPK or his followers of suggeting that the courts are not fair. That is why the lawyer even allowed RPK to jointly choose the adjudicators that is suitable to both.

Yes, when Anwar was tried in 98 everyone was citing that it was evidence of the flaw in this country's criminal justice system.

Yet, when the same justice system aquitted Anwar of the sodomy charges in 2004, no one complain that it showed the flaw in our courts.

So, does this mean that our justice system is fine only as long as it rules in favour of people like Anwar or RPK? And by the same token, but on the flip side, is our courts flawed only if it rules against people like RPK?

Anyway,for me, until the case has gone thru court,and reached its ultimate conclusion, we cannot before hand say that its ruling would be fair or unfair.At least let the legal system run its course first before we decide or suspect either way, shall we?

As it stands, with regards to RPK vis a vis Shafee, there have been two courts whereby the issue has been brought to attention :the court of RPK and his blood thirsty mob of blind supporters and the country's court of law.

Even if we were to assume that the latter is imperfect, I'm sure most would prefer to be tried in a court of law that sometimes dispenses JUSTICE IMPERFECTLY rather than be tried in MT's court whereby RPK's jury dispenses INJUSTICE PERFECTLY all the time.

In that sense, Shafee has been far kinder to RPK, than RPK has been to him.

88. Anonymous10:56 pm

Aye, Mat Rempit Hubris, Carthage. Very well put.
    Justice imperfectly,
    Injustice perfectly.
    I bow to thee.

FAIR-MIND

89. Anonymous11:22 pm

WHAT !? i didn't know at all that YM is a natang lah ! what about his dad, uncles, aunts & counsins
    ( oh, NO... the selangor ...NO..
    ampun, tuanku, ampun, billionbillion ampun...!) (niamahxx)

90. Anonymous2:30 am

WHY SHAFFIE MELENTING MACAM AYAM BERAK KAPUR.. MESTI BETUL RPK'S WORDS

91. Anonymous11:37 am

Rocky, another joke 4u

Qte
    Three women were sitting around talking about their sex lives.

The first said, “I think my husband’s like a championship golfer. He’s spent the last ten years perfecting his stroke.”

The second woman said, “My husband’s like the winner of the Indy 500. Every time we get into bed he gives me several hundred exciting laps.”

The third woman was silent until she was asked, “Tell us about your husband.”

She thought for a moment and said, “My husband’s like an Olympic sprinter.”

“How so?”

“He’s got his time down to under 11 seconds.”
    Uqte

frm: ciplak

92. Anonymous1:14 pm

Shafee is hiding behind Jean Abdullah baju kurung.

93. Anonymous4:42 am

(heha) : Olympic sprinder time under 11 seconds !?
    yes, it's 9.69 now BUT could be faster if this "boy" knows how to fasten his shoe-lace well !

94. Anonymous4:51 am

(heha) : " jin, dun wear baju kurung !"
    " bang, mengapa ?"
    " shafee hiding behind."
    " mana ada !? "
    " ha ! dah lari ...!? tak apalah ..
    ZZZZZZZZZZZZZ !!"

95. Anonymous6:21 pm

Must be easy to dismiss but try to be at the other end of his creative slender... His inconsistencies are so apparent.

Irresponsible characters like that gives every other bloggers a bad name...

Imagine in his recent posting, he even accused Rameli Musa of masterminding the sodomy case... If you know Rameli in person, you would know how absurd those allegations are.

I just pray that all his gullible commentators will face some kind of slander in their lifetime. Then they'll realise what a big coward these people really are

nol

96. Anonymous7:40 pm

RPK si hero tamil. Orang dah tak percaya dengan dia ni lagi dah. Dia punya cerita bukan main lagi, memang dahsyat2, tapi bukti semua pun takda. Kata nak dedah itu lah dedah ini lah, setakat dedah cakap macam tu, takda bukti kukuh. Makin lama nampak macam makin tak betul. Orang macam ni merosak bangsa je.

97. Anonymous11:23 pm

a one time ardent supporter of RPK,
    now I have lost all respect for him.
    He is just one disgusting propogandist, an ugly football faced imputant rascal who indeed is selective on the comments he approves.
    Once I started disagreeing and posted comments opposing his views, my account gets cancelled, repeated requests via email are all ignored.

I fully support Shafee to go after him like a rabid dog and put him to where he belongs.

Blogs have become a common place to tarnish someone's years of reputation and hard work through half truths and lies - One's entire life is smashed to pieces.
    Its time same be done to this football head RPK!

98. Anonymous6:51 pm

Raja Petra is an idiot. Is he deaf or blind, did he not read the papers about Dato' Shafee's reputation as a lawyer? So naive or thinking that he could get scot free this time.

Wrong victim to slander. Dato' Shafee could make Raja Petra walk naked in the streets after all this court case is over. Wrong person la bedul!

I am a current client - for about 2 years going in and out of his office, no such thing. The same conference room was used my me, his lawyer and another party in my case.

The so-called white board was written his whereabouts (Kuching and Trengganu - election petition). It's all in the papers. He was never in for about a month in the office. Probably in for a while and then goes off again to Trengganu or Sabah, wherever his case takes him. The written information on the white board was not even current.

You are such a bloody liar Raja Petra! You have not even been to his office.

Even though I am his firm's client, Dato' Shafee does not know me personally as his lawyer takes care of my case. So for once remove it from your pervert mind that Dato' Shafee is the one who asked me to write this email.

I have to write this because you wrote such a blatant lie in your blog. So irresponsible - what a irresponsible Muslim you are (memfitnah sesama Islam).

ciktim