Sunday, November 23, 2008

What is Hindu Sangam saying?

Many Hindus hurt by Yoga fatwa? I've been watching and reading the "yoga haram" issue with some degree of amusement, until I read The Star online's article Hindu Sangam urges Fatwa Council to "be more sensitive".

After reading it twice, I decided that we need to draw the line somewhere. It was quite ok to read of Sisters in Islam or a yoga instructor debating the decision by the Fatwa Council here, BUT when another religious body like the Hindu Sangam decides to openly question the wisdom of the Fatwa Council for what it has or hasn't done ("... it was regrettable that the Council had not consulted with the Malaysia Hindu Sangam first... "), I fear we may be treading on dangerous ground.

In my opinion, the Hindu Sangam is the one that should be more sensitive here.

As a Muslim, I have no problem with an edict or fatwa, as it is basically a guide. In the case of the yoga, the Fatwa Council says it would be haram if a Muslim performs the religions elements and the chants. The exercise alone is not haram. Some Muslims who are into yoga may decide to leave yoga totally following the edict while some others may decide to just do the exercise. As always, there would be others who will pooh-pooh the edict and still do the yoga -- all three elements of it.

But these are for the Muslims to decide. The edict applies to Muslims only and whether or not many Hindus or Christians or atheists have been disturbed by the edict should not arise. I don't see why they should be disturbed.

The Hindu Sangam should be concerned by how many Muslims would be disturbed by its statement, which can be seen as an attempt to interfere with the affairs of another religion.

Read the Hindu Sangam story again? Click here.
And if you are leaving a comment, be more sensitive than you've ever been, please.

366 comments:

1. Anonymous5:11 pm

Syed Hamid arrested Raja Petra under ISA after accusing him of publishing article which offended muslims. Lets see whether he would do the same to Hindu Sangams as obviuosly many muslims have felt more offended with their interference on this fatwa. Syed Hamid..hello?

ambo

2. Anonymous5:16 pm

As a Hindu, a vegetarian and a yoga practitioner, I would've have to concur with you Rocky.

It is clear that the fatwa is for Muslims only and should only concern them. Most religions of the world do not have organisations such as this to issue directives or guides, but may have bodies and groups that issues opinions and so on. Among the Hindus, there is always the "unwritten fatwas" that govern our lives.

But the council, being a Islamic organisation, should refrain from referring to the Hindu religion. It should concentrate on Islam, and Islam alone.

Its interesting to note that similar "unwritten fatwas" also exists among the Hindus, but we don't publicise, such as killing animals for food. If you politely ask a Hindu, he'll tell you that killing animals is cruel, and the practices of Muslim sacrificial methods are particularly barbaric (according to Hindus la). But this is not said openly in order to respect Muslim sensitivities. A Hindu will cringe at seeing a couple of cows tied to the trees along the roads come Hari Raya Korban, waiting in the heat and rain, and the occasional torture from the neighbourhood kids, to be slaughtered. I for one always imagine the pain and suffering of these animals, for science has proven that they do feel pain and suffering, especially when slaughtered the Islamic way. Furthermore I can't for the life of me explain the rationale of these killings, for science again has proven that meat eating is detrimental not just to the individual, but to the environment. I desperately want to tell them that if you really want to nourish the hungry and the poor, there are more effective ways, and you won't need a JCB to dig a huge hole in your neighbourhood playground to bury the offal! I desperately want to take a knife and cut the ropes to free the animals!

Obviously these feelings must remain within me, since it is a matter of sensitivities of our fellow Malaysians. Even when these things are discussed, its always hush hush and among ourselves. If I am at a Malay wedding, I usually try to remain unseen, cos the Malay culture (which is beautiful, BTW) is to ask everyone to "makan, makan!" I cringe because I know the ingredients! Do I say it openly? What I usually do is to take a plate and pretend to take a little rice and some vegetables and pretend to makan la!

Of course, and again the similarities, these unofficial "fatwas" are not adhered to by the Hindus themselves! Many are even exclusively carnivores, hehe! Because they are the opinions of some and not the final word of the Creator himself.

To cut a long story short la, the question remains: How would a Muslim react when an organisation from a differing religion issues an opinion condemning an Islamic practice, even if it is exclusively for the consumption of the believers?

3. Personaly, I would not comment on the issue below but i hope to TOK GURU NIK AZIZ or someone with the same credentials to comment on it. The sole reason is not questioning the religion or muslim's right but to understand and see the BEAUTY of the ISLAM the religion as i was told.
    All the comments here didn't at all help.

4. Anonymous5:29 pm

Hi, rocky, you are becoming a 'batu' just like those muslim egoists and masih kurang faham about God, you fellas are just ignorant idiots and not sensible, you dont belittle and bad mouth other religions. Dont you or those muslim egoists bad mouth and judge the non muslim and their pratices, dont act God, you are just mere mortals. Ultimately, God will judge the non believers (non muslim) and the idiotic believers like you and those muslim egoists. Children of God

5. Anonymous5:32 pm

Hello People,
    This BN UMNO already LOST power in some state. So, from time to time, what they want to do is stir up some racist topic for everybody to get upset. Look at how many PIG issues, YOGA issue and so on play by the press. Rocky included. So those people at the top, play the divide and conquer game and cause more ethnic divisions among Malaysians. Don't fall to their trap!!!!

To me, up to them Muslim to decide the Fatwa and if they want to consult their religious body how to pray or whatever. It is their right and so are those Hindus or Buddhist or Christian believers.

If this is not play up in the mainstream media or press, I even doesn't care or know if this fatwa exist or not and go on with my live here. Something fishy is going on.....so watch out people!

Hantu sudah keluar...

6. Anonymous5:33 pm

You know what...in a way, I kinda agree with you on this......I mean, I really didn't get it when they asked for Jakim to be more sensitive........

Granted of course, the fatwa is a joke bcos I know a lot of Yoga centres do not practice the pure form of Yoga, where it includes meditation to some religious chanting......rather a yoga-based exercise......

Perhaps, these yoga centres can come up with another name to counter this Fatwa......say, "Y-ROBICS"?

7. Anonymous5:43 pm

I used to do a lot of Yoga myself.
    But I never indulged in Hardcore religious versions of it..

I am okay with the Fatwa.
    and to the non-muslims
    Surah Ya-Kafirun
    "To you, be your religion, and to me, my religion"

Infact there are many more ways of meditations. If you dig into Islamic sufism, it has rich pracices of its meditation as well.

The meditations in Eastern cultures from China are very effective and non-religious in nature.

Recently in West they came out totally scientific based secular kinds of meditation like MINDFULLNESS.

YOGA also effective but is not the only one.. Its just too much HYPE.

8. Anonymous5:44 pm

STOP DRINKING ALCOHOL....HARAM!!
    iSLAM IN MALAYSIA ISN'T THE SAME AS OTHER COUNTRIES??whyyyyyy?
    MAN MADE RULES CRAP

9. Rocky, thought hard about this one.....

imagine the following:

Hindu Sangam asks Hindu's to close their ears when the Azan is being broadcast! It is haram to hear the prayers of other religion.

This is a guideline that affects only Hindu's.

10. Anonymous5:51 pm

In reply to the comment which says,
    "Its not for the Fatwa Council to decide, its for the Malaysians to decide"

Please!!! This not a democracy..
    Its a matter of religious jurisprudence and interpretation.
    Not any tom dick and harry can just come out with a Fatwa, not anyone can yell about it. It comes from a body, based on research papers and indepth probing..

Just like in Medical practice,
    protocols are decided upon by a body of specialists.
    Not a JOE on the street.

11. Anonymous5:56 pm

Everyone seems to be missing the real point here. Money is the main issue behind the problem - "Money makes the world go around".

12. Anonymous6:20 pm

Rocky Mountain High..

Biarlah urusan-urusan hukum hakam Islam ini diuruskan oleh orang-orang yang lebih arif dari kita yang JAHIL ..apatah lagi penganut penganut agama lain.

MASYALLAH..

Percayalah ada hikmah yang tersirat disebalik larangan-larangan ALLAH yang diluar kemampuan pemikiran kita..iman kita ni senipis selaput bawang..maka..tak usahlah kita melenting tak tentu pasal.

Bawa bertenang..kalau perlu, ambil lah wudhu dan buatlah solat sunat dan mohon petunjuk dan ketenangan dari ALLAH..atau kita rujuk dan hayati kembali firman ALLAH dlm Surah Al-Kaafirun Ayat 1-4.

Secara peribadi..sebaik2 'yoga' buat kita orang Islam adalah solat yang diwajibkan dan juga solat2 sunat yang dituntut mengikut waktu2yang telah ditentukan. Lagi panjang bacaannya lagi tinggi nilai ketenangan dan tawaduqnya..Setiap gerak dan penghayatan bacaan adalah therapeutic (untuk minda, rohani dan jasmani). Apatah lagi kalau kita amalkan pemakanan sihat yang sederhana atau berpuasa. (For muslimah out there..itulah rahsia awet muda!).

Kesimpulannya, berpegang teguhlah kita (orang Islam) pada tali agama ALLAH dan jangan sampai "orang luar" mengambil kesempatan kerana kita sendiri memperlekehkan ISLAM..ALLAHUAKBAR.3X

HambaAllah Yang Berusaha Menjadi
    Muslimah Yang Baik

13. Anonymous6:21 pm

Can't anybody here see the politics behind this????????? It's so obvious!!!!!!!!!

The Hindu Sangam president DATUK A. Vaithilingam said: “Many Hindus have been deeply disturbed by the Fatwa Council’s announcement,”

Many Hindus?
    How many?
    Just those in Hindu Sangam & MIC?????

Does the Hindu Sangam really represent the voice of Hindus in Malaysia?

Noooooooooooooo!!!!

It's just another political grouping masquerading as a religious organisation. Very few Hindus are its members anyway.

No my Muslim friends, Malayisan Hindus are not "deeply disturbed" by the fatwa. Don't believe me? Ask your close personal hindu friends.

As far as Malaysian Hindus are concerned, this is purely a Muslim affair, to be worked out by Muslims themselves. We are not at all "deeply disturbed" by the fatwa. Of course, we do not see the rationale behind the fatwa as yoga can be performed purely as an exercise. But if that is a ruling for Muslims then it is none of anybody else's concern.

The Malaysian Hindu Sangam is a useless organisation. Do not listem to them. What is their stand on unlawful arrests of the Hindraf 5 without venue for proper trial in open court if they are indeed criminals? THAT is "deeply disturbing to Malaysian Hindus!

Nickname: Not PC

14. Anonymous6:50 pm

YOGA is a five thousand years old practice. Is there any thing created by Man that lasted that long ? It so happens it was started by Hindus.It was in the mediatation process, you are asked to focus on anything you like, love or rever to invoke the positive energy in you. You can focus on "langsat" or god (any god). Yoga has never asked to focus on a Hindu God. Continuous repetition of anything loudly or within your heart brings about the same result- lowering of metabolic rate which you vital as a first step towards curing your bodily ills. In no other way you can achieve it.Mind it can done in any language and with any religion.Religion is the only vehicle which can arrest the vasilating "monkey" brain and bring it to focus. Religion invokes quickly the positve energy to any one. If you look at the YOGA manuals, its written all over, its system is just a vehicle just like the English language to acquire knowledge or communicate. You need not fear of becoming Christian just because its the language of a largely Christian population.

Scientists have mentioned that the cure for all our deseases is within us provided we give the laboratory within us the opportunity to make the right concoction for the cure. It has been said the determination of the right mixture of the chemicals to arrive at each individuals needs is within each one of us.(Compare it against the current practice of general prescription prevalent.)

Yoga is complete body and mind cleansing programme. It helps to throw out all our toxins. Of course you have Hatha Yoga, Pranayama and Meditation. The confusion is in the Meditation part. For Muslims I wish to say this no where in the Yoga texts mentions its only for Hindus.

As for Hinduism there no such thing as conversion to Hinduism or spreading Hinduism to any one. Even a born cannot be Hindu if he does not practice.The judge is his heart.The best part of being a Hindu is you can be a Hindu and adopt all the excellent elements in all the world's religions.

15. Anonymous7:26 pm

It is bordering on amusing looking at the level of ignorance of some of the comments to this issue. Some suggested that there should be fatwas banning football, tai-chi, boarding aeroplanes etc....all pointing to the fact that they dont understand the cause of this fatwa on yoga. The fatwa clearly states that it is only haram when it involves chanting and worshiping, which is rightly so. If you only perform the exercise, why worry? Kenapa hendak melatah?

It is even worse reading the comments in other blogs, including those in this certain yoga instructor’s blog. The Fatwa Council was labelled d**bass, bangang, medieval morons by people whom I’m sure are Muslims. Its really appalling when you have to stoop this low. I am far from religious but surely there’s a line to be drawn at cursing our ahli ulama? And I think some non-Muslims misunderstood the word ‘haram’. The word is not used to demean your religious practices; it only means that Muslims are not allowed to practise it.

And what’s with these people trying to politicize this issue and saying that you are a government lackey for bringing this issue up? This is about religion. Not everything is about UMNO-PKR-DAP-PAS. Broaden your horizons. Akal biar panjang.

-Galapagos-

16. Anonymous7:31 pm

In Islam Yoga is haram. As simple as that. You do it, then you'll answer to your maker after you dies. Applied to all living being whether you believe it or not. Period.

Islam is THE religion.

17. Rocky,
    I do not agree with the ban but I do agree with you what business has Hindu Sangam to comment on a fatwa concerning Muslims.The Hindus in this country are not affected so why the noise?

Reading through some of the comments I feel sorry that your blog attracts too many morons.

18. Anonymous7:41 pm

Agreed Bro Rocky, the FATWA on the practise of Yoga OR ANY OTHER FATWA is for Muslims in Malaysia ONLY. So Hindus or others, please stay away and dont bother to comment on whether or not to adhere to the Fatwa. Its a matter for only muslims to decide.

19. It's frightening just to leave a comment!

20. Anonymous7:50 pm

Locky, what will happen if Sultan Azlan Shah says Fatwa is wrong, and muslims can practice yoga?
    I strongly feel Lan Uban, as he is known in Perak, will surprise everyone in Malaysia.

IPOH: Perak Islamic Religious Department (JAIP) director Datuk Jamry Sury withdrew his statement to The Star on Sunday that Perak would adopt the fatwa (edict) issued by the National Fatwa Council to ban Muslims from practising yoga.

He said as JAIP director, it was beyond his jurisdiction and discretion to make a stand on a religious matter which was the prerogative of the Sultan of Perak.

“The fatwa (on yoga) cannot be adopted in Perak yet as it has not been discussed by the State Fatwa Committee and brought to the attention of the State Islamic Religious and Malay Customs Council before being presented to the Perak Sultan for consent,” he told Bernama here on Monday.

The Star carried Jamry’s statement that Perak would abide by the fatwa on yoga issued by the National Fatwa Council.

Jamry, who is also the secretary of the Perak Islamic Religious and Malay Customs Council, was also reported as saying that a meeting would be held on Dec 9 before a public announcement would be made on the matter.

The National Fatwa Council had on Saturday issued a fatwa declaring yoga as “haram” (forbidden) for Muslims as it contains elements of Hinduism.

Council chairman Prof Datuk Dr Abdul Shukor Husin was reported as saying that the National Consultative Council had also agreed that any practice containing such elements were forbidden in Islam.

“There are three things that can erode a Muslim’s aqidah (religious faith), namely conviction, words and deeds. As these elements are found in the practice of yoga, Muslims must protect their religious belief from being eroded.

“I would like to advise Muslims to stop practising yoga and choose other activities like cycling, praying and zikir (chanting) for physical wellbeing and peace of mind,” he had said. -- Bernama

21. ... but I have to say, that at no point in our history has inter-racial and inter-religious relations been at such a low ebb ... very sad. we are on the verge of a crisis. will there be asylum seekers from malaysia soon?

22. Anonymous8:02 pm

Read this b4 making up your mind

PRESS STATEMENT : Fatwa On Yoga Is Insensitive

The Malaysia Hindu Sangam respects the right of the National Fatwa Council to give guidance for persons professing Islam on the tenets and practices of Islam.

However, in doing so, they must respect the sensitivities and feelings of the other religions in Malaysia. Many Hindus have been deeply disturbed by the Fatwa Council’s announcement.

Yoga has been practiced for more than 5,000 years. It is a unique system that benefits both the mind and the body. It has been accepted by medical science as most beneficial. To call this ancient practice “haram” and saying that it can “corrupt” a person is very hurtful and demeaning.

It is regretted that the National Fatwa Council did not consult with the Malaysia Hindu Sangam first so that the religious and non religious aspects of “Yoga” could have been explained to them.

Although the fatwa does not directly prohibit Hindus from practicing yoga, Malaysians do not live in isolation from each other.

Many Hindus and non Hindus practice yoga together in a non religious manner, and this fatwa will have a tendency to drive a wedge between ourselves.

It is regretted that this fatwa prohibiting yoga shows a tendency towards a lack of tolerance and understanding which can cause communities to distance themselves from one another.

Dated 23rd September 2008

Datuk A Vaithilingam
    President
    Malaysia Hindu Sangam

23. Anonymous8:04 pm

The muslims might want to consult the Hindus first before they eat meat. It might insult their faith.

Anyway, to those Yoga practising muslims who think that chanting the Hindu God(s) is more therapeutic than chanting Subhanallah or Alhamdulillah,all the best to you in front of HIM nanti
    -anonymous-

24. Anonymous9:15 pm

melayu mudah lupa ! sensitive to whom? .Rampas mayat dari isteri dan anak boleh! ,runtuh kuil hindu seminggu sebelum diwali boleh!pisahkan anak dari ibu boleh!semua boleh !kalau bukan orang islam.kau ini otak kayu layu no 1 rocky.

25. Anonymous9:18 pm

Hindu Sangam, whoever they are, do NOT represent non-Muslims or for that matter ordinary Hindus. It actually alarmed me when bloggers like Mat Chendana state that non-Muslims/Malays take this opportunity to mock (?) Malays and Muslims. I am a non-Malay/Muslim. I am really alarmed by the reactions here. I haven't even given the Fatwa a thought as it does not affect me. So commentators please don't make silly comments about non-Muslims in general commenting on the Fatwa. If SOME non-Muslims do so than just take up the issue with them directly but don't go commenting on non-Muslims/Malays in general.

26. Why do UMNO need to keep protecting Muslims in Malaysia?
    Can they come out openly and tell us...did the no drinking liquor and no gambling actually work?
    You see.all are human beings.and each chooses his/her faith freely.
    OK..Malays told to be ONLY Muslims. They accepted it. Why not. It is a good religion...and 50 years ago...most Malays are not educated.
    So the children carry on ..with no complaints. Still OK..Islam is the greatest religion on earth...today.
    But I bet you...majority Muslims in Malaysia..do not wish to be treated like a herd of brainless sheep by UMNO..or like small children.
    Like I said...gambling and drinking....thousand defy them.
    Go to shops selling 4 digits numbers...so many walk in...buy and bet. Is that not gambling?
    And so many drink beer in food stalls....and pubs..is that not drinking hard stuffs?
    No...UMNO is applying the out-dated..race and religion politics. That's all they know....how to play politics...always ..control and divide to rule...and at present time..most educated Malays..know UMNO is trying to control...their freedom...of thoughts and actions...more than other races.
    This is downright..insults to the educated Malays.

27. Anonymous9:40 pm

Dear Bro,

Next time Muslim should ask hindu sanggam or samy velu when good time to F**K and when not..

28. Anonymous9:51 pm

Apa ni nak kecoh-kecoh,,Yang Majlis Fatwa ta'ada kerja lain ke,,!!!

Kan ada Melayu yang MAKAN BABI,,ta' percaya tanyalah anak-anak Muda Kita,,ramai makan di kedai Cina,,,minta makanan yang di goreng mengunakan kuali yang sama,,!!!???

Yang Kita MEMEGANG saki-baki BABI atau bekas babi ta'bising,,,,,DUIT kertas dan Siling dari Peniaga jual BABI bertaburan di pasaran,,!!

Ini semua menjadi perbualan yang bukan Islam,,,BODOH kan Melayu ISLAM,,,KEDAI JUDI 80% di kunjungi umat Islam,,!!!!????

Lets discuss or take action on the above subject rather than the stupid YOGA di haramkan,,,!!!!

-ANAK BABI-

29. Anonymous10:03 pm

From all the comments up there, here my conclussion:
    1. Some of non muslim still not understand the yoga fatwa ( maybe they didnt read all the statement by the majlis fatwa). Cause they think the yoga is totally haram.
    2. Majlis fatwa should make it clear for non muslim what is haram by the yoga. (To prevent them making wrong statement)
    3. If somebody practise yoga as exercise only is NOT haram as long as they didnt involving in religious (Hindhu or else...) elements together with chants and worshipping.
    4. But when i read all comments here, Non Muslim happy to 'MAIN TEMBAK' jer without READ PROPERLY the fatwa. (Maybe non muslim here are LAZY to read properly).
    5. And some Muslim here also looks stupid because MALAS baca.

So, all u guys pliz la MEMBACALAH DENGAN BETUL. JANGAN JADI BODOH!!
    LAGI BNYAK COMMENTS BY NON MUSLIM LAGI KORANG (non muslim) NAMPAK BODOH SEBAB MALAS. AKU INGAT MELAYU YANG MALAS TAPI YG LAIN PUN PEMALAS.

ok daa....

Shah

30. Anonymous10:05 pm

AND 1 more things, pliz dont relate arab and Islam is same. Islam is religious (the way of life). Arab is just a race thats all. Islam 4 all. dosnt mean u arab is u muslim.

k

Shah

31. Anonymous10:13 pm

Why the big fuss. Alcohol is haram as written in the Quran but many Muslims drink in public. Just go to any pubs or night spots in KL and you will see the merry makers of KL. Same goes for gambling.

As for Yoga, well what is your niat.
    Haram is one thing but will the people really follow. We shall see....

What about meditation......

What about those who become leaders based on corruption....

Dorothy

32. its all about the aqidah. if any actions involve saying or physical movements that could destroy aqidah, then they are best to be avoided so that aqidah will stay intact. As one of the blogger mentioned about airoplane, doesn't the shape of airoplane follows the shape of birds which is aerodynamic? as malay moslems or arab moslems doing things which are prohibited, how can you blame the religion? it is not religion which is at fault but the folowers. we have a lot of christians who did awful things, should we blame Christians in terms of religion? in the ten commandments of the old testament, it is written " there is no God but Him" but in the new testament says, there are three Gods, the father, the son and the holy ghost. Does god lies? or does the writer lies? do we want to blame religion or do we want to blame the people who claim to follow the religion. So before we talk we should consider what we are going to talk. use our brain, not our ego or emotion.

33. Anonymous10:39 pm

hisham,

actually a man is permitted to have four wives in islam. nothing wrong with that. surely better than a man who keep mistresses.

of course, it is not as easy as ABC to marry more than one. unless he runs off to the border to wed another.

a muslim man who marries more than one -- well...better than a man who screws around.

the problem is not that he is a muslim -- if he "abuses" his wife. that he is a bastard of a man.

anyway....back to the fatwa.. Just a fatwa. Not to many Muslms are affected.

a cancer patient who needs yoga as therapy will surely not be prosecuted.

cheers!

34. Anonymous10:42 pm

Nuwun,

that word "corrupt" is seen from an Islamic perspective. Surely anyone can see that. Anything outside Islam is corruptible. You know what I mean.

If hindu describes muslim piety as corrupt, that is not right unless he means that when a hindu carries out rites that are Muslim in nature or have origins in Islam, that is okay from the hindu perspective.

don't confuse the issue.

35. Anonymous10:43 pm

Ya yoga adalah haram dlm Islam. Begitu juga dgn keris , kerana keris berasal dari kerajaan purba majapahit Sri Vijaya dr palembang yang berasaskan agama hinduisma , buddhist dan aminisma di kitar tahun 1309 AD masihi.

Justeru itu saya syorkan JAKIM supaya mengeluarkkan fatwa utk mengharamkan senjata ini di majilis-majilis rasmi kerajaan dan bukan kerajaan bagi menghakiskan pengaruh budaya agama2 lain terhadap penganut agama Islam di Malaysia.

36. Anonymous10:49 pm

Tahniah Rocky kerana keberanian dan ada pendirian. Umat Islam tidak mempersoalkan tentang agama lain bukan kerana agama lain itu betul, tetapi kerana agama Islam tidak membenarkan umatnya menghina agama lain. Nampaknya hari ini umat Islam sahaja yang perlu hormati agama lain, manakala agama lain bebas mempersoalkan Islam. Kesabaran umat Islam ada batasnya.

37. Anonymous10:50 pm

SABAR SAMPAI BILA

38. Anonymous11:14 pm

The Indians have been given too much face in Malaysia, and this is the result. It is indeed a time to be sensitive/tolerant, not stupid - as the Hindus have shown themselves to be. The problem is they are feeling that they are more 'untouchable' what with receiving blind support from the opposition for all that they do. They are sowing increasing hatred for their race among Malays, and they better wake up to that soon.

39. Anonymous11:22 pm

who is this 'H.S' to question the fatwa?

40. Anonymous11:25 pm

apa pasal pulak hindu sangam nak melatah pulak. kalau pandai tak macam ni. ianya umpama islam mengharamkan babi dimakan orang islam dan adakah patut agama lain tersinggung dan mengata islam tak sensitive. surah Al Kafirun dapat menjelaskan perkara ini (yoga) dengan begitu mudah sekali. Hindu sangam boleh merujuk surah ini dan kalau tak faham boleh mintak tolong ustaz menghuraikan. itu pun kalau ada rasa sensitive terhadap orang islam. shafie

41. One majlis fatwa comes up with an edict, and one other religion's council reacts..

And shit hits the fan in all of blogsphere with everyone going into a free for all. From islam bashing to 'dont u ever dare interfere with my religion' kind..

What the feck is wrong with you people?

If Malaysians can be divided so easily, we're all just screwed arent we?

42. Anonymous12:54 am

Ya Allah, lindungilah aku dan umat Mu yang lain dari perbuatan, percakapan, pendengaran, penglihatan, yang membawa kepada kemungkaran dan murtad. Amin Amin Ya rabbal Alamin

homemum

43. Anonymous1:05 am

This part of the world is getting more and more Arabised.

We think we understand the Arabs and live their way of life, but aren't we doing this because we don't know our own way of life ?

The Malays are surely losing their culture at such an accelerated rate!

We think we understand the world and it's diversed people, but we don't even dare to think if we even understand ourselves.

44. Anonymous1:06 am

(heha) : aiyah ! yoga..yoga..forget
    it lah : come join me doing 'line-dance' setaip pagi at 8 at the
    polo-ground = recreation park, ipoh = FOC somemore !!

45. Anonymous1:28 am

sepatutnya ahli majlis fatwa ni cakap biar terang, bukankah elok ditambah yoga haram bagi rakyat malaysia yang beragama islam dan bagi bukan yang beragama islam kena rujuk pada majlis agama yang mereka anutti, sebab bukan semua melayu islam dan bukan semua india itu hindu nak lagi jelas pergi indonesia.

46. Anonymous1:43 am

Wow I can't believe how dull can Indian be...Majlis Fatwa clearly said forbidden for muslim ...I don't get it where is the parts that they got hurt...Majlis Fatwa doesn't said Indian can't perform yoga...stop politicized everything.
    ghost

47. One pro UMNO guy said we don't understand what is a fatwa.'Who cares what it is.
    Headline papers says..Yoga ban for Muslims.....and we are voicing out.. for our Malaysians.
    Yes UMNO is controlling minds...not freeing it....yet want to talk Vision 2020??
    What sickening visionaries are these corrupted NUTS??

48. Rocky..Off the subject.....if I may.
    Zorro have taken off your blog and "All Blog" logo...from his blog.
    He was once... "All Blog" right hand man.
    Now he put back Sheih's "United Blogger" logo.
    You said...Sheih resigned...what about Zorro??
    I think you are telling half truths about
    "All Blog" present situation..which will harm your reputations in the long run.
    Why are you still keeping Zorro's blog in your roll...when he clearly does not want anything to do with you...right now?

49. Anonymous2:19 am

Why should we non-Muslims be sensitive to Muslims? "Sensitive" is a constant propaganda by BN for 50 years to question the rights of Muslims who have been insensitive to non-Muslims. Where does it stop? Islam is not sensitive to other religions instead it issues fatwa to shut out dialogue and harasses anyone who opposes it.

50. Fellow Muslim brothers, prepare for these to be declared as haram as well.

1. Roti canai - because it's originated from India.

2. Proton Iswara - Iswara is the name of hindu god, lord Shiva or Lord Eswara.

3. Proton Satria- Satria is the name of cast in hinduism or warrior in most Indian languages. Pandavas in Mahabaratha were called as Shatrians.

4. Mahathir - MAHA means great or huge and THIR OR THIRAM, THEERAM means STRONGEST. Indians describe the acts of their heroes or warriors who fought and won for their country and race as Mahatheeran and their strength as MAHATHEERAM.

I could add 100s of examples or reasons to this list. Can Fatwa counsil ban everything at the end of day and I think if that were to happen Malays will be into a different lifs tyle in Malaysia. What I'm saying is why are they making lives difficult for Malays and Muslims? According to Star today the Selangor Sultan has not decided on the ruling made by National Fatwa Counsil to ban Yoga. Doesn't that say something? It means people including Sultan with better understanding find that hard to believe.
    If god is one as you say, why worry the rest? In the eye of god no one is above the another and we the humans with narrow minds make all the mess to make things difficult.

51. Rocky,

Pertama sekali, saya setuju bahawa Hindu Sangam atau bukan Muslim tidak ada kena mengena dengan fatwa ini. Seharusnya Hindu Sangam tidak masuk campur didalam urusan ini. This is because the ruling will affect only Muslims liberty to practice yoga. The non-Muslims still retain their liberty.

Kedua nya, memandangkan isu in melibatkan orang Melayu dan Muslim, persoalannya adalah a) adakah Muslim faham kesan dan maksdu jangka panjang fatwa sedemikian? b) ada kah isu ini boleh dibicarakan oleh golongan Muslim atau harus di terima sahaja tanpa soal? Kalau kita lihat kepada peruntukkan undang-undang, apabila suatu fatwa dikeluarkan oleh majlis, memperosalkan atau membincangkannya menjadi satu kesalahan jenayah. c) Mahu kah Muslim di malaysia membuka minda mereka dan membaca Al Quran serta menyemak sunnah Rasul bagi memahami Islam supaya tidak perlu mereka dibuai sebagai kanak-kanak yang sentiasa perlu dijaga? (jangan marah ye..)

Banyak lagi persoalan yang boleh dibincang dan dibangkiktkan sesama Muslim bagi tujuan mengenali ajaran Allah ...namun boleh kah kita disisi undang-undang?

52. Anonymous3:18 am

Itu Hindu Sangam, BN punya barang. Sama-sama itu Fatwa Council, BN punya baranglah saya ingat.

Mereka sama-sama mau buat kecoh lah ini dalam nagara Malaysia tercinta!

Mereka mula mula buat kecoh sama orang Cina dengan orang Melayu, sikarang sama orang India sama orang Melayu.

Kita rakyat pandai jangan tertipu. Kita turus kawan sama Melayu, Cina dan India.. kita turus jadi kawan baik, kita turus respect agama sendiri masing masing.. itu BN mau buat apa.. kita tamau hirau.. kita terus maju sebagai Rakyat Malaysia.. mereka kerajaan mau buat barang barang ini macam kita tamau hirau sama mereka.. kita, Rakyat Malaysia, turus hidup happy sesama sendiri.. berbagai kaum, berbagai agama, berbagai warna kulit!!

Yaayyyyyyyyyyy!!!

53. Anonymous5:47 am

Go ahead MAJLIS FATWA because you just act as a tool in term of maintenance for law of islamic....

Of course it is not for political reason....Hindu Sanggam, you guys with your religion an us with our....ADA PAHAMMMM????

PENDATANG HARUS INGAT ASAL USUL!!!!

(Anon From Kedah)

54. What is Hindu Sangam since when Malaysia have Hindu Sangam? Islam is the official religion of Malaysia the Fatwa only to the muslim so what is the problem with Hindu Sangam.
    Syed Hamid up to u.

55. Anonymous7:33 am

Bro Rocky,
    You are totally not sensitive to Fatwa council.Worst still you are giving face to the Hindus on the pretext of "sikap keterrbukaan"This is rubbish and disgusting.
    Sedarlah sikit brother,ini negeri melayu bukan hindu punya..lama lama buka nanti melayu kena hisap buntut hindu ..lu mau ka!!!!
    This is not "perkauman" but you just imagine if this happen in INDIA..YOU THINK this "sikap keterbukaan" will be practiced there.Dont bother about Hindu sangam.our fatwa council decision should be respected
    MELAYU JATI

56. Anonymous8:39 am

brother,

you are a sadomasochist...
    i salute you, i tell you.

you post this Star's article and "they" -- your detractors, your critics, your ex-friends, you know -lah, the usual suspects.

you don;t complete Hindu Sangam's statement (although you linked the story) pun salah...ada satu mamat palat take issue. Bodoh bengap or what?

let me comment on some o yr commentors yang betul2 siol.

1. anona@1:04PM (sekadar di pinggiran):
    Dey! Poddah-lah...you have an argument? you have solid basis for a debate?

No need to bring irelevant issues here. FOCUS on the issue. You cannot accept that Hindu Sangam is interfering? We get your point.

2. Anon@2:46PM:
    Shallow entry? You think? Yep.Rocky cannot please everyone, including assholes like you.

3. Anon@3:20PM:

ok-lah. i osso preten to talk like mudderfucker like you. Rocky a. no need to have people like you ah to respect him. becos you ah very stoopid one lah. very bigoted. if you ah know rocky ah...obfiously you don't , then you ah know him lah. you ah tink hindu sangam ok to tell fatwa council this and that? you ah mad one lah. oen relgious body telling another religious body of different faih what shul or shud not do ah, very stupid one.
    don't ah, accuse rocky of stoking whatever ah.
    you ah go fly a kite. :-)

Bunnies:
    my oh my., aren't we a little skewered here. Focus, babe, focus. Let's not ramble about other irrelevant things or things that are not happening yet.
    Babe, you've got a problem with religion?

Stick your blabbering up your ass, babe.

57. Anonymous8:44 am

I propose we form the "Pendatang Malaysian Faiths Council" - and then after review and due consideration of our perceived cruelty to animals as propogated by the halal methodology of Muslims to ban all our "pendatang" faith follwers from eating halal meat in any estabishment in malaysia.

Hmmmm now all you Muslims - jangan sebuk and kacau in our religions decisions. It is for our followers only - so you guys shut up and butt out.

Nice isnt it when the shoe is on the other foot

"Sick and Fed Up With Childish Behaviour"

58. Anonymous8:47 am

bro,

Sigh...you can; win 'em all, can you. A brave man you are knowing that there are so many assholes (as one commentor said) among your readers.

You publish the Star's report on Hindu Sangam, they accuse you of trying to stoke fuck-all. Being an Umno sympathiser now (? how is this related???). On Umno's payroll yadayadayada.....what next.

The rabid PKR supporters are trying to get ya, aren't they?

Man, I can see them coming for you.
    They're pathetic. But too few, too few of them coming in under different nicks and anonymouses.

Do they even understand what you write? Of course they do but they want to stir trouble and discredit you.

But you're big and strong. You have a good heart, bro.

Good luck, bro! You're doing good!

59. Anonymous8:51 am

Saya sukar nak mempercayai bahawa ramai lagi mangkuk2 yang tidak faham intipati fatwa tersebut.

Cukup-lah dengan tohmahan terhadap majlis fatwa.

Lidah pengarang NST amat memperkecilkan majlis fatwa kebangsaan. bahkan, menghina peranan majlis.

60. Anonymous8:52 am

bro,

latest on the sultan of selangor's statement with regards to the fatwa.

i have one thing to say -- I know why he has a personal interest in Yoga.
    Just ask around.

61. Anonymous8:55 am

For all Muslim, 5 time daily prayers is enough to keep us fit physically & spiritually...(buatlah dgn penuh ketaqwaan & keredaan..insyaallah)

As for the Fatwa Council its their responsibility to remind us Muslims to be more aware & vigil of certain things that may corrupt the Islamic faith of Muslims...

To the non-muslim...this Fatwa is just a guideline which will eradicate doubt on Yoga among the Muslims....now its up to the Muslims...between him/her with the Almighty Allah swt.....

Salam & God Bless All

Rock On Rocky!!!!!

-baniADAM

62. Anonymous9:02 am

Rocky you are a big hypocrite. Just read your comments in Nuraina's blog.

Why dont you re-read your own blog and see how you chose to focus and divert readers attention to the Hindu Sangam comments rather than the fatwa itself.

Hats off to Nuraina for her much better professional and balanced approach to this whole laughable issue.

You should go back to journalism classes or better still religious classes to get back some semblance of justice, balance and fairness.

"Reader of Comical Religious Edicts"

63. Daulat Tuanku !

Sekarang Raja Raja jugak dah terlibat......

apakah kite akan menghina Raja kita sendiri dengan banner benner UMNO di Terengganu ?

Apakah kite akan menderhaka kepada raja yang kite sanjungi ? Atau kite akan memanggil dengan nama2 seperti di promosikan oleh UMNO seperti " Natang "

Daulat Tuanku !

64. Anonymous9:13 am

Anonymous said..

I wonder what will happen if Hindu Sangam issue their own ban on silat.. what will happen... WHAT WILL HAPPEN????

I said..

We as a muslim don't care...

you don't eat meat or cow...we also don't care..

so stop 'busy body' with what our 'ulama' said.

Me, Myself and I

65. No more Yoga nehmai. Catch the new craze, i-Yoyo. :-) tokkokoni.blogspot.com

66. Some of the Muslims said we don't understand Islamic law.
    They forget to tell us...what type of Islamic law...the Taliban type or the progressive practical type.
    No need to understand.
    Banning a more than 5000 years good exercise...respected and welcomed by ALL modern countries....it takes smart UMNO government..to teach others...how to such eggs.
    Beneath that is the ulterior motive to keep controlling Muslims minds.
    Is not banning it...telling muslims...it is haram?
    So was gambling and drinking liquor.
    That is why...we have such a great number of UMNO hypocrites..banning the things..they do themselves.
    Saying our Universities are still one of the best..yet none of the ministers children are studying here...all go overseas.

67. Anonymous10:03 am

For the muslims, there are many other form of exercise that can be practiced. Don't fret.

For the non Muslims, go ahead and practice Yoga. Don't fret. The application of halal and haram applies to Muslims. It naturally doesn't apply to non Muslims.

For those who are not sure on whether he/she is a Muslim continue on your journey to seek HIM your creator. May he open your hearts and give you wisdom in this world.

68. Deiii Hindu's,

Enough is enough la wei,why the hell u want to interfere in our religion? Did we ever disturb anything about ur religion? What is this?

u all make temple any where u like and we keep quiet...always quiet...sampaikan u all have a temple in MIDVALLEY la wei...everything in this world can move but u all punya temple cannot?

U all should be sent back to ur original place la....u all are not worth it to be malaysian actually...

Never test our patience.....remember u all are 8% minority and pls act like one ok....

Naka kesamrataan konon.....baru sikit je dah ngelabah si hindu2 ni semua...

Baru minum setengah gelas kecoh satu kampung....

69. Well, quite evident from last night that even the palace is questioning the rush and content of the fatwa. It is ironic to have so many far-right people here who condemn kafirs and other Muslims to keep quiet and just accept. Evidently, the 2 wise Sultans showed us that we should not just accept things lock,stock and barrel.

We do wonder on the real reasons behind the scene for these events.

70. Anonymous10:40 am

Baguslah tu.

Hindu Sanggam buatlah fatwa baru yang semua orang Islam wajib buat Yoga.

71. Anonymous10:44 am

JALAK LINTING

Muslims must be allowed to practice their way of life in peace and to proactively defend their syahadah from any explicit or implicit attempts to compromise them.

Mikaeel (Michael Jackson), Yusuf Islam and many more who were not born-Muslims but were searching for the Truth finally found what they were looking for. So I don't give a hoot to those who do not know about Islam but try to be smart alec preaching others about equality, atheism, anything goes blah2.

In order to work, respect and undertsanding must be mutual. Clearly Muslims throughout the ages have been very restraint in their interactions and engagements with non-Muslims (in Malay Bolehland, even more Muhibbah :) due to Islamic teachings.

But in all spheres of life in this country, the non-Muslims shouldn't take Muslim's compromise and niceties for granted. Don't take away from us our right to teach our adherents and children the proper, right and God-sanctioned rules. You want to practise yoga 24/7/365 that's your business, but Muslims we have our own God-determined criteria.

And watch out certain English daily who has shown extreme fondness for dividing Muslims on Islamic issues.

Don't unnecessarily incur our wrath.

72. i totally agree with Antonia's comment somewhere above because i think she's kinda hot.

73. Anonymous10:51 am

Bila Kuasa politik melayu semakin lemah (politik sahaja benteng terakhir di Malaysia yg orang melayu adda), maka semakin kuat suara2 yg mencabar kemelayuan atau keislaman di sini.

Oleh kerana minority di malaysia adalah minority besar (india 10%, Cina 30% +), dan mereka menguasai Malaysia ( dari segi ekonomi, pelajaran etc) melainkan politik, maka inilah jadinya.

Orang melayu perlu bersatu dan yg paling penting sekali orang melayu perlu membangunkan diri sendiri dan tunjuk kepada mereka semua bahawa orang melayu bukan lemah..orang melayu bukan bodoh dan orang melayu bukan miskin.

Berdirilah di atas kaki sendiri. Kalau orang lain mampu, kenapa kita tidak? Bukankan kita berdiri di bumi Melayu? Apakah bangsaku begitu lemah dan hina, tidak mampu berdiri sama tegak dengan bangsa2 yang lain di dunia!?

74. Anonymous10:52 am

I don't understand whats the big hoo-haa bout this fatwa. It's up for you to decide whether to continue with Yoga or quit. To Hindu sangam, why do we need to consult you when in comes to our believes?

But What scare me the most is that we dare to question the Majlis Fatwa when obviously they have more 'ilmu' than us. Kalau sembahyang tak cukup, puasa tak penuh and belum sempurna amalan agama..who are we to question? Majlis Fatwa had done their duty and they are off the hook. It's up to individual to decide. We can't simply bark at the religious council just because we don't like the decision.

p/s: I think, muslim yoga practitioner should take up this opportunity to set up classes that conform with islam's guidelines.

-algae-

75. Salam for Muslim Blogger,

Just wanna share the quote from Sheikh Yusuf al-Qaradawi in islamonline.net which aligned with our Fatwa council's:

In the Name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful.
    All praise and thanks are due to Allah, and peace and blessings be upon His Messenger.
    Dear brother in Islam, we would like to thank you for showing keenness on knowing the teachings of Islam, and we appreciate the great confidence you have in us. We hope our efforts meet your expectations.
    With regard to your question, Sports are basically Halal and permitted in Islam as long as they do not encompass forbidden acts. As for Yoga, it contains certain religious rituals aiming at educating and disciplining the soul. Moreover, those who practice it claim that there is a spiritual contact between them and some hidden spirits in which they themselves believe. Given all this, practicing Yoga by Muslims is Haram.

76. mother-of-all-fatwa..

Next fatwa is ban your mother..

77. Anonymous11:29 am

Quote from Anonymous...

>> I wonder what will happen if Hindu Sangam issue their own ban on silat.. what will happen... WHAT WILL HAPPEN???? <<

Aiiyaa... cakap macam nak kiamat jer.. What happen? Nothing happen maa... lu nak blajar silat lu suke hati maa.. gua melayu pun tak blaja silat.. melayu tak rugi maa kalau lu org tak blaja silat..

shah

78. ColourMeBad said...

To cut a long story short la, the question remains: How would a Muslim react when an organisation from a differing religion issues an opinion condemning an Islamic practice, even if it is exclusively for the consumption of the believers?

Well dey..if you are in the country which the official religion is Islam of coz you kene respek la...whereas Hindu is only the minority. If this country is India I dont supprise if the fanatik hindus like hindraf and HSanggam condemn n killed muslim and abolish the mosque like Masjid Babri n even Taj Mahal also they want to claim n said that site is previously a HOLY GRAND TAMPLE of 1000 yrs ago(So much holy site for you). Islam is always being condemned left n right in the west but it does not suprise us, but it stlll attractive even King of POP pun masuk Islam.

79. Anonymous11:38 am

Tell them dont EVER mingle with Islam, or ready to face consequences!

80. Anonymous11:38 am

Hello everyone,

You all have been commenting on what the media has featured the news on the views by Hindu Sangam.

See the actual statement below.

These guys are supposed to keep quiet when something is inferred about their faith?

PRESS STATEMENT : Fatwa On Yoga Is Insensitive

The Malaysia Hindu Sangam respects the right of the National Fatwa Council to give guidance for persons professing Islam on the tenets and practices of Islam.

However, in doing so, they must respect the sensitivities and feelings of the other religions in Malaysia. Many Hindus have been deeply disturbed by the Fatwa Council’s announcement.

Yoga has been practiced for more than 5,000 years. It is a unique system that benefits both the mind and the body. It has been accepted by medical science as most beneficial. To call this ancient practice “haram” and saying that it can “corrupt” a person is very hurtful and demeaning.

It is regretted that the National Fatwa Council did not consult with the Malaysia Hindu Sangam first so that the religious and non religious aspects of “Yoga” could have been explained to them.

Although the fatwa does not directly prohibit Hindus from practicing yoga, Malaysians do not live in isolation from each other.

Many Hindus and non Hindus practice yoga together in a non religious manner, and this fatwa will have a tendency to drive a wedge between ourselves.

It is regretted that this fatwa prohibiting yoga shows a tendency towards a lack of tolerance and understanding which can cause communities to distance themselves from one another.

Dated 23rd September 2008

Datuk A Vaithilingam
    President
    Malaysia Hindu Sangam

And what about the views by the Malay rulers? They asked to be consulted first befor coming out with such 'edicts'. Indirectly, they are saying - ruling was hasty?

Rocky, post this news on the views by rulers also on your blog and invite comments lah?

Lets see how the same folks who commented now, speak up on what the rulers have said.

ARASU

81. Anonymous11:43 am

Hindu Sangam!!!
    KEEP CLEAR!!!
    or do i have to repeat!

JBRANGER.

82. There are many ways to view the issue but it is interesting to note that the first slingshots have always been fired by the muslims themselves. Please read my take on this issue at sakmongkol's page:-
    https://www.blogger.com/comment.g?
    blogID=1604477176521753208&
    postID=6119363468119776487

If left unbridled, imaginations run rife and extreme-but-equally-stupid views like that "Muslims should not ride airplanes because they are invented by non muslims and therefore should only naik sampan" stupidity is used against an otherwise very methodologically researched fatwa ruling.

Apocryphalist

83. Anonymous11:44 am

To all those myopic self centered morons who think this edict ONLY concerns Muslims should consider self administered brain surgery...

When u make an edict that directly concerns another's culture or religion, what do u think the impact is...think before u shift gears to that mealy mouth of yours... You are DIRECTLY insulting that religion/culture... Gosh, no wonder this Country is going to the Dogs...the infested bitches are running it..and worse still the castrated pariahs are preaching and supporting it...

Utterly Amazed

84. Anonymous11:47 am

to be more sensitive........
    vice versa?
    hindu sangam! are you all kidding?

live to die!
    for ISLAM

KemPas.

85. Anonymous11:48 am

aku rasa monsterball ni memang KURANG AJAQ punya apek tongkang..f..k racist punya bangsat..kalau hang tak faham islam hang tolong SHUT your bloody mouth la..mulut busuk macam babi punya taik..

-orangmelayutakkacauorlain-
    penang

86. Anonymous11:54 am

Just read an informative article by the much respected blogger Malik Imtiaz Sarwar in today's Tuesday 25 Nov 2008 Malay Mail, written in his collumn(Disquiet) (page 15) on this whole fatwa issue.
    It was enlightening indeed.
    -Peacetoyou.

87. Anonymous12:11 pm

As a Malaysian Hindu, I think MHS ought not to have issued any comment on the fatwa. It does not involve or affect the Hindus or anyone else.

It is only for the Muslims to debate on. Let the Muslims regulate themselves and their practice. And let the non-muslims practice their own religion (which includes not demolishing temples at will).

Everyone should shut up, stop thepolitics and work our way out of this economic mess this overly complicated country is in. And that includes you too Rocky. Please stop playing up issues that no one knew of until you blew it up on this blog.

88. Anonymous12:23 pm

Message to "mother of all fatwa"... Pity you with your comment. Anda cetek ilmu dan tak paham dengan fatwa kepada orang islam. Bila tak paham tu jangan komen atau tanya dahulu daripada orang yang paham dan boleh menjelaskan. Jangan persoalkan islam kalau agama anda sendiri lagi banyak yang boleh dipersoalkan...

89. Anonymous12:24 pm

Kita kena tahu which is which. FATWA ini untuk umat Islam dan orang yang berugama Islam sahaja dan tidak terpakai kepada penganut lain. apa masalahnya. yang Islam nak practice boleh tapi kena jawab di padang masyhar la. bukan susah kan.

Yang penganut lain marah sangat pasal apa.??? dan kaitkan dengan design kapal terbang la macam " mother of all fatwa" kata psal apa. akidah tidak sama dengan luaran. akidah dalaman yang oi.. kalau dalam dah rosak apa jadi dengan kita...

Priciple of the decision is to give clear guidelines to ALL MUSLIM. REPEAT TO ALL MUSLIM ONLY..SO yang lain biaq p la...

90. Anonymous12:30 pm

why must the hindus get upset..the fatwa is ONLY for the MUSLIM..we are not stopping them to practise YOGA..they can do YOGA ALL day long,no problem!..

91. Anonymous12:46 pm

Hindu and Islam are two different faith. Islam as a monotheisme and hindu polytheisme. Islam consider polytheisme as infidel (kafir). If islam consider hindu as religion of infidel, did hindu people hurt because of that?
    Why hindus should hurt of that infidel label? Kafirun in arabic means those who reject Islam as a faith. Did the hindu reject Islam as a faith? For sure they did.
    So, if Fatwa council issued that yoga is haram (because of the hindus elements in it). Hindus elements that contradict to Islam faith.
    One hindu writer wrote that yoga should not be separated from hinduism because it root was there.
    Yoga Renamed Is Still Hindu.
    So Fatwa Council did the right thing for muslims in Malaysia but if you as a muslim reject the edict, so it is up to you put your own faith and give hundreds of thousands of reasons to suite your own business.

But For hindus to feel hurt because of their "kafirun", it is an act of trangression to other religion.

92. Anonymous1:25 pm

After all said and done. Please note that no one is demanding to retract the fatwa...

93. http://www.thesundaily.com/article.cfm?id=27939

See? There's nothing to worry about. There are still enough reasonable people.

But I fear the damage has been done.

In an effort to get a 'win', in order to prop their egos, in order to be SEEN as right, some people have lit a fuse.

A fuse - which I think what this thing is.

It reeks of political manipulation. And race-relations will take a further beating from the antics of idiots - on all sides.

Stupid.

94. the wisdom of the FATWA COUNCIL is highly questionable, anyway..

and oh rocky, please tell me you know that the fatwa made recently was meant to prohibit all Muslims from even attending yoga classes albeit only physical exercise only..

*sigh
    and i expect so much more from u

95. Now the Fatwa Council got fucked up by Suntans and public opinions..opposing banning it.
    Now it is put on hold..no ban.
    What idiots they are.

96. Anonymous2:09 pm

Saudara Rocky yang dihormati,

Isu yoga ini, dan khususnya fatwa yang dikeluarkan oleh Majlis Fatwa Kebangsaan, sangat menarik.

Saya tidak mahu bercakap berkenaan hal ini kerana ramai yang sudah bercakap atau memberi komentar mereka di blog saudara dan juga di tempat lain.

Cuma saya ingin membawa perhatian saudara kepada satu perkara yang patut diambil iktibar oleh Orang Muslim yang masih menolak keputusan fatwa ini.

Dalam pembacaan saya - dan saya memang membaca berkenaan agama-agama lain - Guru Nanak, guru agama Sikh yang pertama, secara terus (firmly) telah menolak amalan dan prinsip yoga secara terbuka dan ada dinyatakan dalam penulisan suci agama Sikh.

Ini telah pun dilakukan lebih 500 tahun lalu. Arahan Guru Nanak telah disebut semula (re-affirmed) oleh sembilan penggantinya.

Saya ada berbincang dengan rakan-rakan Sikh selepas fatwa terbaru dikeluarkan dan mereka ada menyatakan bahawa rasional Majlis Fatwa Kebangsaan lebih kurang serupa dengan injunksi Guru Nanak.

Rakan Sikh berkata yoga dalam apa jua bentuk sama ada keagamaan, kerohanian atau kejasmanian adalah bertentangan dengan ajaran agama mereka kerana elemen-elemen ke-Hindu-an yang telak ditolak oleh guru mereka.

Dalam erti kata simpul, ajaran Sikh yang terlahir di Punjab, India, sendiri telah menolak agama, tradisi, pengaruh agama Hindu termasuk yoga.

Jadi apakah salahnya Majlis Fatwa Kebangsaan membuat keputusan yang penting untuk menegakkan akidah orang Islam?

Namun demikian, saya berpendapat sudah sampai masanya Majlis Fatwa Kebangsaan mengharamkan upacara-upacara atau pengaruh berunsur Hindu dalam sistem kesultanan Melayu.

Bersediakah Majlis mengharamkan:
    1. mengangkat sembah dengan tangan
    2. memohon ampun seperti hamba
    3. mencelar diri sendiri seperti anjing
    4. menyamakan diri seperti habuk kaki (duli) dan
    5. mengagongkan manusia selain Allah?

Saya harap Majlis konsisten dalam mengunggulkan ajaran-ajaran Islam sebenar.

Terima kasih.

97. Anonymous2:11 pm

From Rocky's Post
    ("... it was regrettable that the Council had not consulted with the Malaysia Hindu Sangam first...)

From TheStar
    ("... it was regrettable that the Council had not consulted with the Malaysia Hindu Sangam first so that the religious and non-religious aspects of yoga could have been explained.")

Sentence with Different meanings don't you think.

[Malaysian]

98. Anonymous2:29 pm

Yes I toally agree with Fatwa on Yoga banning, they should ban QiGong because it's based on the Eight Cycles of Immortal Life and Pilates is founded by a Jew with links to the Mossad. We as Muslims have been praying for 5 times a day and the sujud is more than enough exercise for us. They should also ban us from sinful places like disco, shopping complex, public places that encourage continual sinning and free mingling. The govt as a Muslim govt should instead build mega mosques to house and protect us Muslims where we can exist only for Allah!!!

Oh Allah please shield us from these infidels and strap us with Your Almighty firepower in times of need!

99. Anonymous2:31 pm

Sure sure is non of Sangam business. Let me as a Yoga instructor working both in Jakarta and Kuala Lumpur for the last 33 years say a few word. In my whole working life as an Yoga instructor I have ever encounter an incident where I relate or my pupils relate Yoga to religion.

This whole episode makes those who agree Yoga is haram looks very stupid or simply Bodoh.

100. Anonymous2:38 pm

wah2 tiba2 heboh plak pasal kes pharaman yoga..keliru dan pening.. napa jugalah mau dibising2 klu fatwa islam keluarkan kenyataan begitu.. itu hak dan hal orang islam..yang hindu, budha, kristian, etc tak yah lah nak bising2..islam tak larang pun agama lain nak buat yoga..up 2 u guys lah..yang org islam kena beringatlah, kata2, perbuatan dan cara kita boleh memberi kesan kepada iman kita..klu iman rosak nescaya rosaklah agama kita..
    pasal tulah masyarakat islam skrg makin lemah sebab iman dah rapuh, bila iman dah rapuh benda yang haram pun jadi halal.. nahuzubillah.. even kita ada hak sendiri, tapi kena beringat juga hukum hakam tuhan..(utk org islam)

101. Anonymous4:26 pm

utk yg faham bahasa melayu tak kira Non muslim atau muslim,

apa yg berlaku sekarang dan non muslim nampak sangat nak bercakap yg dia orang tak pernah lakukan sebelum ini terutama terhadap orang Islam akan melahirkan banyak lagi xtremist2 dlm masyarakat melayu islam spt di Indonesia, dulu kita tak yakin org bangsa melayu (indonesia/msia) sanggup mengebom atas nama ugama. Tapi perkara ini dah terjadi dan akan terjadi, sbb pelopornya masih ada lagi(osama dan DR Ayman Al zahri). Semangat dia orang adalah berpaksi kpd perasaan tertindas, terhina, terpinggir atas nama Ugama( yg difahaminya).

Oleh itu jgnlah kita cuba wujudkan suasana ini kpd sesiapapun tak kira bangsa dan agama mana pun, ini boleh dilihat apa yg terjadi di Sri Lanka. Cuma apa yg saya lihat pd org melayu Msia sudah ada bunga2 ke arah itu, ini akibat saudara mereka terdekat di Patani telah melakukan pembunuhan demi pembunuhan tak kira org yg tak berdosa. Ini sungguh malang sekali bila dikaitkan dgn ugama. Sedarlah saudara2 mereka ramai di Utara dan Pantai Timor, mereka telah terdedah dgn corak perjuangan sebegini, makanya kita di Msia cubalah hindarkan perkara ini terjadi.

Ingin saya bertanya pd semua anda termasuk yg dok perlekehkan org muslim yg dok minum, melacur dsb adakah anda gembira dgn apa yg terjadi di Bali, Patani atau diIraq? Adakah anda bersedia utk menumpahkan darah demi hak masing2. Kalu rasa masing2 maukan kedamaian spt sekarang cukuplah, biarkan apa yg kita lakukan selama ini disini jgn diubah suai, jgn di hina sesama kita tak kira bangsa dan agama manapun.

Sy berkata sedemikian kerana bunga2 api sedemikian telah wujud tinggal lagi utk disiram minyak oleh org2 spt Osama, dan keadaan masyarakat di Msia cukup kompleks sekiranya sudah wujud pemuda2 yg berfahaman spt Imam samudera disini maka betapa tragedi ini menjadi tak kunjung padam spt chain of reaction. Utk makluman sudah berapa ramai pemuda2 Islam terutama di Utara dan Pantai Timor telah mendpt didikan di Pakistan, Afghanistan dan Patani. Mereka2 ini ada dimana2 di Msia tentunya bukam Islam tak perasan akan keadaan ini. Mereka sebenarnya telah di indoktrinasikan dgn perjuangan Osama, tinggal lagi orang spt mereka masih sayang dgn keluarga, ibu bapa mereka serta budaya melayu dan cintakan lagi kedamaian di negara ini maka sbb itulah mereka tidak menzahirkan fahaman mereka ini.

Oleh itu jika cintakan damai jgnlah di provok mereka2 ini sbb mereka ini memang menunggu saat spt ini terjadi.

Sayangilah apa yg telah ada di Msia selama ini.

Thanks.

From anti taliban/ anti osama

102. Anonymous4:26 pm

To the writer of........mother of all fatwa said...........ko tu bodoh!...tak faham bahasa....

103. Anonymous5:38 pm

Salam Bro Rocky,

Tiada masalah utk mengamalkan gerakan2 tertentu dlm yoga atau apapun bentuk senaman.

Tetapi jgn sesekali campur adukkan dgn hal yg bertentang dgn aqidah - itu jelas haram.

Rosak aqidah, rosak semuanya.

Itupun klu kita masih sayangkan Islam.

-AWANGJPJ

104. Anonymous6:23 pm

Your blog is now preferable than MT...Obviously RPK admits that MT cant afford to have principles in order to survive or win in the "dogs eating dogs world"...to me its simple really, why bother reading thoughts of a man without principles...why even bother at all!!!

105. Anonymous6:37 pm

Pengharaman ini wajar kerana amalan yoga turut mengandungi mantera dan pemujaan bagi mendapatkan ketenangan dan penyatuan diri dengan Tuhan.
    Yoga banyak disebut di dalam kebanyakan teks Hindu seperti Veda, Upanishad, Shiva Samhita, Hatha Yoga Pradipika, Bhagavad Gita dan pelbagai Tantra.
    Menurut Pensyarah Fakulti Pengajian Islam Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM), Prof Zakaria Stapa yoga adalah amalan masyarakat Hindu yang menggabungkan unsur keagamaan dan penyatuan jiwa dengan Tuhan.
    Mufti Johor, Datuk Nooh Gadut turut mengkritik umat Islam yang mengamalkan yoga sebagai bercanggah dengan akidah, syariat serta akhlak Islam. Malah, beliau turut menyarankan mereka yang mengamalkannya segera bertaubat kepada Allah.

Yob Anak Tulakang

106. Anonymous6:51 pm

I believe the spokesperson representing Hindu Sangam, was unhappy that the Fatwa Council was insensitive to Hindus by declaring that certain elements of the practice of Yoga will corrupt Muslims. You will agree that the word corrupt or its equivalent, is a poor choice of a word. By suggesting that the practice of Hinduism corrupts Islam, is basically the same as saying that Hindus aren't good, pure or have a place in heaven. I too would have been offended by the statements of the Fatwa Council if I was a practising Hindu.
    You are however right that non-Muslims should just leave it to the Muslims to sort this out themselves.
    In closing, I am glad to have left the monotheistic faith. Whether it be Christianity, Islam or Judaism, it is the same old, same old. Each faith trying to convince the masses that there are many paths to God, but in truth, barely believing it themselves. In fact Christians believe Muslims are going to hell and vice-versa. My God is bigger than yours and its the one true God is one mantra that gets repeated again and again.

I will stick to beliefs based on fact, not faith.

Eugene K

107. Anonymous7:17 pm

“If they (National Fatwa Council) believe it is wrong, then it is wrong. It is unfortunate that other people think that it is a slur on their religion. It is like saying Muslims should not eat pork, and it is not an insult to the Chinese. It is the same when Muslims cannot do yoga. It is not because they are insulting the Hindus.
    “It is just that they should not do it. Whether the Malays follow it or not, that is really their business. Other people should not make it a religious issue. Like all other things forbidden among Muslims, it is not an insult to others.
    “But people want to make an issue of this. I feel very sorry. Personally, I don’t care very much if you stand on your head or stand on your feet. It is not as if by performing yoga you immediately become a non-Muslim.”

- Dr M told reporters this after presenting a keynote address at the English and Asia 2008 First International Conference on Language and Linguistics organised by the International Islamic University Malaysia

108. Anonymous7:23 pm

Bro Bru
    This Hindu Sangam is trying to be like the Hindraf Tamil Tigers. They should come-up with their own 'fatwa' on the issue of pariahs in the caste system.

109. Some fanatical Muslims will keep saying non Muslims do not understand.
    It's just merely advises...not to do it...like smoking..drinking and gambling.
    Yet...millions are smoking .and drinking...and thousands are gambling ..no arrest.
    You see...when you are down at their throats...they will say like this.
    What about fasting?
    If one does not fell like fasting as he feels very weak...cannot work...so eat...why is he punished?
    Why not leave that to Allah to judge him?
    So are two genuine lovers.
    Why shame them?
    So goes on the list of haram...all are so call advises...but if he public do not shout for their brother Muslims..these double standard fanatical laws and followers will grow by the numbers....creating more and more hypocritical Muslims in so call Vision2020 Malaysia.
    I am still wondering...why corruptions by Muslims....should not be treated most sinful..and hands to be cut off...if found guilty.
    After all....you want to be like Talibans...than do like the Talibans.

110. Anonymous8:20 pm

So Chinaman STAR got Malays and Indians fighting over yoga.

Smart, ask the Hindu Sanggam to comment on something they know little about just to start a fight.

WongChunWaiIsASmartAss

111. A Punjabi friend of mine once said to me the Muslim manner of slaughter of a chicken is "haram" to them.

I just thought you might be interested to know.

112. Maybe, just like in Pakistan they have "Islamic Beer", which I have drunk myself, or the non-alcoholic beer that is commonly found in the Middle East, maybe they can have "halal" certified Yoga centres!!!

113. Hi Rocky!

Who give a damn about their feeling when they don't give a damn about our feeling!

Make no mistake, the Malay Amok will show sooner or later... if the government just keep quiet!

It too much and the limit of Malay patience is running thinnnnnn.

114. Thank you for raising the issue. At least we can hear some of the points may arise when handling the objection head on.

First, come lah macha, please lah, if we all know everything about it, we also marah lah. But as you know, we know a little bit only. But the fatwa people is the religious people, so we have to follow lah... If you want to marah, pergi belajar pasal Islam lah... And then you know lah why we cannot do the yoga lah... Ok, Boleh? Relaks lar, we still have other ways to do the exercise lah... Come and join us do the Kayaking...

115. Rocky,kau pegi jaga akidah kau dan budak2 melayu yang muda tu dulu lah,ta perlu kau nak condemn HS.Cari jawapan nape orang2 melayu ni,dah lah di bagi semua kemewahan dan merompak bangsa lain di atas nama ketuanan melayu,masih nak melibat kan diri dlm kegiatan yg menjijikkan seperti mengambil dadah,rogol anak sendiri,beli nombor 4 ekor,minum arak,mat rempit(mat cemerlang),bohsia,dadah,lepak,berdangdut,politik duit,rasuah,cerai,bini 2 ,GF 2, banyak lagi.Kau cari lah jalan utk memulihkan semua kegiatan orang2 melayu ni yang dikeji,ni pulak kau sibuk ngan hinduism.Kau orang ni nak malaysia jadi negara pariah cam Afghanistan,Pakistan,Zimbabwe,Burma dan cam Iraq yg hari2 bom sana,bom sini ker?Please lah have some self respect,ok?

116. Hindu Sangam is saying Yoga is purely physical exercise? Let's hear from the Yogis and Yoginis first.

Google Yoga and understand what it means first before bitching.

117. Anonymous10:55 pm

Al Bru,

Aku terbaca dalam satu blogspot, iaitu Husin Lempoyang Blogspot. Nih betoi ka USM nak start program B.Sc(Hons) Yoga Hadhari, sebagai memenuhi pasaran pekerjaan sebagai instructors, consultant, manager untuk kelab-kelab Yoga Hadhari yang dijangka akan tumbuh dengan pesat berikutan dengan publisiti mengenai yoga itu haram. Yoga Hadhari akan diujudkan, sebagai alternative untuk menghalalkan Yoga. Ini sebagai menyahut cabaran Mufti Perlis Dr. Asri Zainul Abidin supaya diujudkan satu alternative bagi meredakan keadaan( STAR Tuesday 25, 2008, page N14). Masaalahnya bolehkah PKR, HINDRAF dan Hindu Sangam terima apabila nama Yoga itu ditampal dengan perkataan Hadhari.

Haji Ripin
    Pulau Pinang

118. Sdr Rocky Bru.

Belacak sangat-sangat bersetuju dengan komen dari Anonymous (Alana) tentang cara akhbar the Star mempersembahkan berita secara provokatif. Ini dapat dikesan sejak beberapa ketika terutamanya pada berita yang melibatkan isu agama dan kaum.

Contohnya didalam kes "penumpang" Ahmad Ismail dibuat seolah-olah beliau seorang perkauman yang amat jahat. Isu ini mendominasi beberapa helaian dalam akhbar The Star berturut-turut hari.

119. Anonymous12:02 am

Hello rocky,
    LEBIB HAIK AJAK BUKAN ISLAM DIALOG FASAL FALSAFAH HIDUP, KETUHANAN, MENGAPA PERLU ADA TUHAN, MENGAPA TUHAN WAJIB ESA BUKAN BERBILANG, MENGAPA BERAGAMA, DAN SEBAGAINYA..KERANA HAL INI LEBIH BESAR LEBIH AFDAL DAN SUPAYA BUKAN ISLAM BOLEH BUKA MINDA MEREKA SECARA LOGIK TENTANG TUHAN. DAN SEBAGAI MANUSIA KITA AKAN MEMILIH PERKARA YANG PALING MASUK AKAL DALAM BERAGAMA.

LAGIPUN BUKAN ISLAM MEMANGLAH MEREKA TAK FAHAM FASAL TAUHID. MEREKA TIDAK ADA FALSAFAH TAUHID DALAM AGAMA MERAKA. SEBAB ITU MEREKA PERCAYA TRINITY ATAU TRIMURTI.

KALAU MERAKA DAH FAHAM TAUHID, NANTI MINDA MEREKA AKAN FAHAM HAL-HAL YANG AKAN MEMBATALKAN AQIDAH MEREKA.

SALAM.

120. Anonymous12:06 am

as a non-muslim, this is what I'm afraid off.

1. Fatwa is declared on Yoga, council says only muslims are affected.
    2. Muslims feel yoga is haram, thus uneasy about classes/practises
    3. There is a call to disallow yoga classes/gatherings/meets as it is unislamic (and some joker will claim this is a Muslim country when it is really secular)
    4. Yoga classes are cancelled, non-muslims lose out or have to practice yoga only in a few places.

So how?

121. Anonymous12:23 am

"Siapa yang sayang sangat kat yoga, lebih baik peluk terus AGAMA HINDU, LAGI BANYAK ADVANCE YOGA PRACTICES YANG AKAN MEMBERI KEBAIKAN KEPADA RUH DAN JASAD."

Kalau rasa yoga lebih baik dari solat , lebih baik terus tinggalkan solat...
    SENANG KATA...MURTAD TERUSLAH....TAK PAYAH BINCANG-BINCANG DENGAN MAJLIS FATWA.

122. Anonymous12:26 am

It is not true Star is a racist newspaper.

They meet the quota of bumi in he company. Shahanaz and Megawati are enough to make up 30 per cent bumi quota in the Star.

The way to go CHun Wai, MCA, Gerakan and DAP, the so-called crusaders of equality,

123. Anonymous12:32 am

To Rocky and reader named Morgan Luke: I stand by my earlier comments to Rocky that he is stoking the racial fire and after having read all the 314 comments, some of which are downright racist, insulting and threatening, I have to say: I was right and I REST MY CASE! Auntie J.

P.S. It's still not too late, Rocky. Take down that post, unless your conscience can accept the sin of playing a part in stirring something VERY dangerous. Most of us Malaysians just want to live peacefully with our multi-racial friends. We don't care about politics and politicians or their stooges.

124. Anonymous12:39 am

Contrary to what Rocky said, the Hindu has every right to question the fatwa because the Muslims are condenming the Hindus - both directly and indirectly. How can the Hindus keep quiet when the Muslims said "the Hindu practices is haram". Look at the sentence again... talking about sensitivity. What are you thinking?

125. Anonymous12:52 am

tudung is haram, azan is haram, eating cow is haram and in fact being a Muslim is haram too... i mean from a non-Muslim perspective. Can they issue a fatwa pubclicly and condemn other religion indirectly? Hence, the reason for the Hindus to say we need to be more sensitive.

126. Anonymous12:55 am

What if the non-Muslim issue a fatwa publicly saying that listening to the azan is haram and will be burn in the deepest hell. Will the Muslim kepe quiet and say nothing since it is non of their business and it is only the non-Muslims are obligated. Hence, we need to be sensitive to other religion.

Rgds
    Danny

127. Anonymous1:51 am

Dear beloved people,
    I saw what Mr Rocky have written and I do agree with what he said that people cant interfere in other people,s religions matter.But what Malaysian Hindu Sangam said taken out of context.What they really meant is that the respected fatwa council shouldnt just say yoga is haram simply.We hindus believe that yoga is an holy thing.They shouldnt simply say that yoga is bad because it is an ancient form of holy art that have been in the world for centuries.The respected fatwa council people should use proper words when they describe they want to ban yoga.What they said is like saying yoga is a bad thing.So I wish to clarify what this hindu sangam people meant.

Thanks and proud to be a malaysian forever.(Mr Vig)

128. Anonymous2:01 am

mangkuk punya hindu.... fatwa hanya untuk org islam.....yg hindu sibuk apahal......balik batu caves bawak kavadi lagi baik,takda org kacau......... ALHAMBRA

129. Anonymous2:05 am

THE ONLY WORD CAN BE GIVEN TO HINDU SANGGAM IS "SENGAL" OR "MANGKUK"

HENRY ANJUN

130. Anonymous2:44 am

Fatwa ini jelas terhad pada orang islam sahaja.

Fatwa ini jelas hanya peringatan kepada orang islam sahaja.

Jadi nampak sangatlah orang bukan islam yang mempertikaikan fatwa ini adalah mereka yang mempunyai perasaan yang sangat dan terlampau benci kepada Orang Islam dan Orang Melayu.

ianya jelas kelihatan didalam komen2 orang bukan islam didalam blog ini.

jepri

131. Anonymous4:45 am

Guys. Just stop questioning the fatwa lahhh!... COme on.. NON-MUSLIMS are not fucking affected by it.. so why make a fuss out of it? Already malaysia have racial issue... now u wan religion issue? I am a chinese and dont c why shud a non-muslime or chinese like me interfear with the fatwa.. for fuck's sake, its aint our fucking business, its only for the muslims and the muslims itself.. FATWA is FOR MUSLIMS! not chinese, indian or whoever u tink ur... Get a life ppl.. I know u guys are already rich enuf that u dont have a shit care of this world, but other ppl nid to earn a living, dont make a big fuzz n revisit may 13.. please. We are Malaysia, and we are multiracial.. We are already matured. 51 year of merdeka. So act like one. Gosh... God save this ass holes!

I hate busy body.

132. Anonymous4:47 am

Anyway, to all the Malays who made their angry statement here, please... not all are like those non-muslims assholes who interfere with other ppl's religion.

please chill. we are malaysian. (:

i hate busy body.

133. Anonymous4:59 am

goddamn hindus, trying to pretend to concerned about muslims and shit.
    don't they know that no one is allowed to have an opinion in our country? sheeett, if just anyone could just express their opinions we would have chaos! pandemonium! basic human rights!

crazy mofos.

134. Anonymous7:23 am

Dear Anak 12.26 pm,

Memanglah pada masa lampau adat hantaran, naik pelamin, merenjis itu orang Melayu warisi dari kebudayaan masyarakat Hindu, tapi tak menyalahi pun hukum hakam akidah Islam. Dekat negeri2 pantai timur setahu saya takde duit hantaran, tapi ada mas kahwin.
    Tapi harga mas kahwin sana lebih kurang duit hantaran.
    Dan mereka juga tiada persandingan. Tapi majlis agama negeri mereka takde pun sampai haramkan.

Awak cakap ada keluarga perempuan yang letak berpuluh2 ribu ringgit. Apa salahnya? Mungkin keluarga pihak lelaki tu memang orang berada. Setimpallah. Tapi awak cakap ia patut diharamkan sebab orang boleh letak harga tinggi sesuka hati. Bukan semua pihak keluarga perempuan mata duitan mcm tu.

Alasan serupa juga untuk naik pelamin – „kemampuan“. Jika mampu, buat, jika tak jangan. Kalau keluarga pasangan pengantin mampu, selesa nak buat perkahwinan istimewa untuk anak2 mereka, jadi buatlah. Ya, mmg Islam tak menggalakkan pembaziran. Tapi takdelah dalam konteks ni sampai perlu haramkan perkahwinan cara Melayu tu.

FMMZ

135. Anonymous7:48 am

Really, I don't even think this is a question of religion. It seems more a question of common sense to me.

What the fatwa ensures is that yet another 'divide and rule' policy is implemented.

Now I don't know if Rocky or anyone else happened to study history, but divide and rule policies are pretty much renown for being abject failures.

Saying that the issues affecting one religion have no bearing on anyone not of that religion, is purely ignorant and simplistic.

Lets say I found a religion tomorrow, and call it Ring-A-Bell-ism. Now lets say my new religion, Ring-A-Bell-ism states that I should carry a bell with me at all times and ring it loudly in the ears of anyone not of my religion.

Would it still just be my business?

Maybe that's unrealistic? Well, as a result of Islamic Laws, numerous non-Muslim couples have been harassed by the Islamic Enforcement Squad's 'peeping toms'.

Still think that there's no overlap?

Also as a result of Islamic Laws, numerous non-Muslim youths have had their nights out rudely interrupted by raids looking for Muslims who are drinking.

Really? Nothing to do with non-muslims huh?

I strongly advise that anyone who thinks that one section of a community can exist in its own private Never-Never-Land without any affect on, or by, the rest of the community applies some good old common sense to the issue.

-Vish.

136. Anonymous8:04 am

Dear MONSTERBALL,

Islam is different from other religion. We will tend to our “lost” brothers and sisters and guide them back to the right path. We don’t just sit and do nothing. You’re wondering, why don’t just let them be, with all the sins, so that later only God can judge them. If that’s the case bro, then God wouldn’t have sent the Prophets and Rasuls.

After the death of Prophet Muhammad pbuh, there were some Muslims who came back worshipping idols, drinking, among other sinful acts. But what did Abu Bakar do? Sit around? No bro. He fought. Yes, he fought (through battles and so on) these infidels and succeeded in crushing the morons.

Bottom line is; Malays/Muslims will do everything they could to save their brothers and sisters from going to the wrong path. And believe me bro, even Pas would do the same (in maintaining the obedience of Muslims towards their obligations). So, don’t smack Umno for banning this and that. It could be far more drastic if it were under Pas’ rule. And I dunno why you’re blaming Umno, because as far as I knew, the decision was from the Fatwa Council.

And I’m confused. Do you want the Taliban(using your word)-rule to be adopted in this country? Why… you’re really enthusiastic if the rule of cut-off-hands for rasuah and riba committers. You’d feel satisfied with that? Then, I guess you’re willing to have Hudud Laws like in Saudi Arabia to be practiced here. No? so, what are you saying, really???

FMMZ

137. Anonymous8:11 am

Aku pada mulanya takde masalah dengan yoga ni. Tapi bila setiap posture diberikan nama Sanskrit dari kitab Hindu, tu yang aku tak sedap dengar dan terus give up --- Bonkers

138. Anonymous9:10 am

DI MANA BUMI DIPIJAK, DI SITU LANGIT DIJUNJUNG...

139. Anonymous9:26 am

oh ! people oh people , NOW what ?
    creat a issue ke ? ( heha)

140. Anonymous9:37 am

Taken from Nuraina's blog. I hope she doesn't mind

I'm almost a fitness fanatic. Aerobics, Qi Gong, Pilates, jogging, Zumba, gym work-out. belly-dancing, hip-hop, salsa -- done them all and is still doing some.

Now Yoga....I have always been interested in this form of exercise but never ever got around to registering in any Yoga class. So many people have encouraged me to do Yoga for its physical benefits.
    There are many Yoga centres and I never tire of finding out one that is suitable for me....

Years ago in the 70s, I followed a TV programme on Yoga. I'd follow the exercises and enjoyed doing them because they were so soothing and gentle yet helped firmed up the body.

When I closed my eyes, it was just to rest my body. To calm down my senses.

I have several books on Yoga. Some were given to me as gifts. Some I bought. I am aware of the origins of Yoga and the meditative and spiritual elements, though I am no expert.

I have always believed that there is nothing "haram" with the physical element of Yoga. Frankly, I am sure it is the same with other Muslims. I was (and still is) aware of the un-Islamic elements of Yoga. I am sure other Muslims must be too. I believe that Muslims who do Yoga, exclude these elements.

So, now that the National Fatwa Council has confirmed my own belief about the physical element of Yoga, I am pleased that I can do Yoga without any doubt or skepticism. I had none, in the first place. But I feel vindicated.

My concern is that if and when the respective State Islamic councils decide to adopt the "fatwa' (edict), some overzealous and unthinking officers will start a "crackdown" of Yoga centres and round up Muslims.

That will be really crappy and I fervently hope that it will not happen. Still, I am pre-empting any such decision -- I firmly protest any such crackdown.

When the fatwa council announced that it was going to issue a fatwa on Yoga, I must admit that I was one of those who thought the whole issue was laughable. Also insulting to me as a Muslim. Am I that weak or stupid to go astray, or what?

And after Yoga, what next, I thought.

I thought it was unnecessary because I was firm in my own belief about Yoga. So I dismissed the council's action as trivial. You know, making a mountain of a molehill.

In a way, I am glad now that the council has confirmed that it is okay to do Yoga -- minus the spiritual elements, of course.

And rocky said
    YES, now Muslims who want to do the yoga exercise can do it with peace of mind! Tanpa was-was, thanks to the fatwa

All i can see in Malaysia is the mentality of non muslims who will jump to any opportunity to bash anything muslim/malay related and don't wven bother to see it in positive light...See how hypocrite they are, hiding behind the so-called equality for all ideology

141. Anonymous9:38 am

I wonder what will happen if Hindu Sangam issue their own ban on silat.. what will happen... WHAT WILL HAPPEN????

4:52 PM
    ----------------------------------
    Hehehe...selalu budak-budak tadika kemas saja sembang macam ni...pandai tak boleh nak ikut bodoh tak boleh nak ajar...

Kalau dah malas guna otak pakai la lutut ke buku lali ke...

Takperla setiap sesuatu ada balasannya kan ...jangan risau.

-jebat5-

142. Anonymous11:16 am

Am surprised to see so many non Muslims and liberal Muslims who are living in Malaysia, claiming to be tolerant Malaysians getting worked up about the Yoga fatwa. It just shows their true colours and sincerity here. Why can't Muslims practice their religion freely in Malaysia? As a practicing Muslim who tolerates liberal Muslim friends and non Muslims, I feel offended by the remarks made by them in your blog.

Malaysian Muslim

143. Anonymous1:14 pm

My husband died, I had 3little kids and unemployed. From day 1 we moved on full steam ahead and survived.

Then the family accident, broken ribs and cracked skulls, we survived, all those 10years.

Then I snapped, stress, depressions, tremors, suspected tumour and hypertension blab la bla

All tests, negative so doctor advised me to revisit my ways of life.

Friends suggested Yoga. Well, YOGA.. Guess I will need to pay for each sessions?

My children and I adjusted our lifestyles, no pressure. No beras, we survived on biscuits and bread for days. No money for bus fare to school, my children don’t go to school, I go through lessons at home with them. No money for Hari Raya, no new clothes,bla bla bla

We learnt to live within our means. Always grateful for what we have. I did not require YOGA to clear all the mess with have to deal with daily.

I bought bicycles for each of us. We cycle a lot, very good way to get around, good exercise and good for health. Long distance, aah, the bus or commuters, relaxing and very very cheap.

But one that will always be with us is, Allah, always giving us the inspiration to move forward.

And if this FATWA on YOGA is for the good of us Muslims, so why all the noise? There are other ways..

Single Parent

144. Anonymous1:31 pm

Pasir Salak said...
    "Bersediakah Majlis mengharamkan:
    1. mengangkat sembah dengan tangan
    2. memohon ampun seperti hamba
    3. mencelar diri sendiri seperti anjing
    4. menyamakan diri seperti habuk kaki (duli) dan
    5. mengagongkan manusia selain Allah?"
    Walaupun saya menyokong saranan Majlis Fatwa, masih terdapat sekatan dan had bersuara bagi ulamak yang gaji mereka dibayar kerajaan.

145. Anonymous3:14 pm

Tuan Majlis Fatwa,

Baik gi buat ceramah pasal politik wang, bagi tahu benda tu haram. Bagi anak bini makan tak elok. Ada berani ka Majlis Fatwa. Ke tak ada ........

146. Anonymous3:53 pm

Kalau korang baca The Star tiap-tiap hari, nanti korang perasan kecenderungan The Star playing racial and religous issue.

Isu ni dah diperbesarkan oleh The Star. Kenapa dia nak interview Hindu Sangam? Contoh kedua macam Malaysiakini yg interview Thalaga pasal isu pengkid.

Something fishy is going on.....

147. This is one of the few comments that is worthy, useful and helpful:
    @Anonymous (Mr Vig) 2.37 PM 26 Nov

Mr Vig: It's wonderful to have someone like you who is sane, sober and who doesn't use his "kepala lutut" to think. You, sir, are among the most superior of the commentators in this thread. Your words here, in fact, are almost the essence of the whole thing.

I hope Ahirudin wouldn't mind that I quote Mr Vig's comment in full, and mark the parts that I feel are most important.
    []
    Dear beloved people,
    I saw what Mr Rocky have written and I do agree with what he said that people cant interfere in other people,s religions matter.But what Malaysian Hindu Sangam said taken out of context.What they really meant is that the respected fatwa council shouldnt just say yoga is haram simply.We hindus believe that yoga is an holy thing.They shouldnt simply say that yoga is bad because it is an ancient form of holy art that have been in the world for centuries.The respected fatwa council people should use proper words when they describe they want to ban yoga.What they said is like saying yoga is a bad thing.So I wish to clarify what this hindu sangam people meant.

Thanks and proud to be a malaysian forever.(Mr Vig)
    [...]

Well, since Mr Vig has shown the way, I guess I'm going to cancel my intention to write something nasty here.

I'm not too surprised with many of the comments here - and you folks should see what some of the self-proclaimed "BANGSA MALAYSIA" had pompously written at a few blogs about Islam and Muslims (and somehow neatly managing to include "Malays" too).

I agree that the words used by the fatwa council does not reflect wisdom (yeah, maybe a few people might find my sentence offensive, and itching to retaliate in defence... of "what"?? Islam? Or the council? Ada difference - and the council bukan orang-orang yang maksum.)

And this makes me wonder and question: How could they be so ... xxx ...? (Ni aku tak ada kata apa-apa, ya...) Surely they should know that "Muslims" and "others" would "have felt something emotionally".

One thing is undeniable: The sentences in the fatwa and the manner it is handled could have been a lot better ... things like "explaining to the media", "anticipating the public's questions" etc.

It would be easy to criticise the council as being "out of touch" and "sloppy"; as many have done. Maybe it's because I have a suspicious mind, but I don't think that was really so. Some of us suspect that it was done on purpose - that there is an agenda. Yoga Fatwa Trap

Laughable? Maybe. But remember that my speculation is also as good as yours, so we are at least even here:-)

148. Anonymous6:03 pm

….. joenathan 10:01 PM

yo la joe Nathan gerek,but

First, PRACTICE what you PREACH.. then phew…

only then

go out and PREACH..

Joegembalalembu

149. Anonymous9:07 pm

Anonymous said...

So Chinaman STAR got Malays and Indians fighting over yoga.

Smart, ask the Hindu Sanggam to comment on something they know little about just to start a fight.

WongChunWaiIsASmartAss

Anonymous said...
    It is not true Star is a racist newspaper.

They meet the quota of bumi in he company. Shahanaz and Megawati are enough to make up 30 per cent bumi quota in the Star.

The way to go CHun Wai, MCA, Gerakan and DAP, the so-called crusaders of equality,

Belacak said...
    Sdr Rocky Bru.

Belacak sangat-sangat bersetuju dengan komen dari Anonymous (Alana) tentang cara akhbar the Star mempersembahkan berita secara provokatif. Ini dapat dikesan sejak beberapa ketika terutamanya pada berita yang melibatkan isu agama dan kaum.

Contohnya didalam kes "penumpang" Ahmad Ismail dibuat seolah-olah beliau seorang perkauman yang amat jahat. Isu ini mendominasi beberapa helaian dalam akhbar The Star berturut-turut hari.

11:38 PM

there have been a handful of interesting points raised on the tendency of the star to carry certain stories in a slanted way....

again, my contention is this: a lot of malays have crossed over to the star out of anger for what they believed was manipulation on the part of the govt, through nst, utusan, and the like, during anwar's time.

malays pissed with the malay administration leaving a malay-owned publication to support a chinese organisation, that was how it went.

the malay readers crossing over as they believe that the star is a neutral paper, and yet, of late, they have been accused of being extremely gung ho abt racial and religious issues.

the fact is this: they have always been gung ho. remember when it was closed down a long time ago? what was the issue? do some homework.

the star should know that it was the influx of malay readers that had put them in the position they are now. nst lost a lot of readers who went to the star.

not to say that nst is also really good lah, but at least, it is not a racist company.

you've read for yourself, postings, obviously from nst insiders, on who are pulling the strings there.

lee ah chai, lionel morais, and the list of those abt to be promoted have more non-malays than malays there.

i have no problems with this, as promotions should be based on merit.

but if you consider the accusations hurled at nst that it was spinning for the govt, and spinning for the malays, they have been whacked out of shape - and yet, the company is not racist by nature.

but when you talk abt the star, nobody says a word when they play on anti-malay or anti-islam sentiments. you know why? the non-malays stick together, riding on the sheer stupidity of some malays, who stand on self-created pedestals and ask for changes that eventually will result in exactly what they are preaching against: abuse of power but by a different group.

you already see it in penang. guan eng wants to abolish nep. open tender, he says. yeah, sure, some malays will get some of the contracts. sure, the chinese will give it to the malays because there are so many competent malay contractors out there. of course, i am being sarcastic here.

please lah. eventually, it will favour one race. and the sad thing here is this: who then will be looking at the interest of the indians? how many indians will get projects in penang based on an open system? do you know that many competent indian contractors?

i think, sometimes, the indians are also being manipulated. the saddest part of it is this: if you go humility, if you go by courtesy, politeness, caring, i believe that the malays and indians have more in common with each other.

i have some lovely indian friends, who are very nice, loyal, trustworthy people. you don't get indians looking down at you when you shop at posh malls, and vice versa, in general.

try that in penang, or ipoh, for that matter. they won't even give malays and indians a second glance.
    look at who is fond of potong queue...they don't give a damn, do they?

the question to ask is: instead of stoking sentiments by going for hindu sangam's comments, why didn't they do the responsible thing by also carrying a simple explanation on what the aqidah is for muslims.
    nobody has tried to explain this: and out ignorance, non-muslims fire from the hips.

by the same token, no one argues abt the aqidah (belief) of other religions. in msia, you get people serving vege food for their hindu friends, out of respect, during raya or chinese new year.

heck, the msian govt that is so cruel and corrupt, has also been sensitive. the sikhs do not have to wear a helmet out of respect for their religion....has anyone challenged that?

all religions are good. arguments like if you can drink beer, then you can do other things is shallow. if you go by this same argument, then why should christians attend mass every sunday if they do other things banned by the religion. or why should hindus pray at temples if they have sinned?

these are nothing but merely stupid arguments. there is nothing wrong with the religions, it is always the fault of the practitioners.

many seem to forget that at the end of the day, all religions require us to be good to each other.

now, where is the tolerance for each other here? is the malay or indian guy next to you so bad that you want his blood?

thanks to the likes of the star, the yoga issue here has given life to rife. some of the bloggers must also take the blame for this.

kudos...

150. Anonymous10:04 pm

Why can't we think for ourselves, why we need some (busy) body to come out and say this is right and that is wrong.
    When I attend a function organised by the church, I sing hymns along with my christian friends.
    I hold my palms up during a doa selamat kenduri.
    In an estate hindu temple yearly festival, I apply the tilak (on my forehead) and eat off a banana leaf.
    I have been doing this since I was a teenager, and today in my fifties, I am still a devout Taoist.

non fickle minded

151. Anonymous11:50 pm

Sorry Vish, but you are living in a country where Islam is the official religion (in case you have forgotten). So looks like you have to deal with it :) And can you at least come out with a better anology than your ring-a-whatever?

- nadim-

152. Anonymous12:20 am

Sorry Rocky I know you must be tired moderating these hundreds of comments but I just have to say a few more things. After reading some of the comments, its clear that years and years of (apparently) living harmoniously and intergrating in a multiracial society (in a country where the official religion is Islam) do not do anything to make us understand other religions (Islam in this case). When we say haram, it does not mean that we are belittling or insulting your practices, it just means Muslims can't do it. And if its true as widely claimed that modern yoga is not a religion and has nothing to do with Hinduism, why shoud HS be bothered?

When the Fatwa Council mentioned the word 'corrupt', it just means that there is a risk (however remote) that the practice could corrupt the faith (akidah) of Muslims. It does not mean that Hinduism is a corrupt religion. And in a way I can agree with this. Its fine to practice yoga purely as a form of exercise but when some said they turned to yoga to solve their problems (e.g. bersihkan kepala serabut and menenangkan fikiran)without turning to God first (there are yoga fanatics who attributed everything good in their life to yoga), isnt that a step towards menduakan Tuhan? I guess this is what the Fatwa Council was trying to address, its not that they suka2want to ban exercises.

-Galapagos-

153. Anonymous7:29 am

Bravo Bro Rocky

Yes you are right "But these are for the Muslims to decide. The edict applies to Muslims only and whether or not many Hindus or Christians or atheists have been disturbed by the edict should not arise. I don't see why they should be disturbed"

Let's us Muslim in Malaysia be more sensitive to our religion. All these while we have never question the practise of other religions. We are good muslims, we respect other religions but when Hindu Sangam we should discussed with them first, it is already too much. Being a Hindu is already haram in Islam. So let us just ignore them and tell them not to interfere with our religion. Theirs with their religion, ours with our religion. To us Islam is the only religion thats god recognised.

tq

154. Anonymous1:04 pm

Dalam hindu mana ada majlis fatwa, mana ada mufti mana ada istilah haram, halal?
    Jangan nak counter stail tu...Dah nak jadi "islam" pulak.

Bagi Islam, agama Hindu memang buruk untuk manusia..Fasal apa? Fasal dia korup akal manusia..Cuba fikir konsep tuhan mana boleh jadi banyak!!!!!!!!!Mana boleh Tuhan ada banyak.? Tak logik langsung!!! Kenapa manusia hindu tak mahu guna akal kalau rasa pandai sangat...apa fasal dalam bab agama ikut nenek-moyang dulu? Kenapa tak pakal kepala akal anda? Jadi kalau nak kata buruk..memang Hinduisme merosakkan akal sihat manusia.Tak logik..

Semua orang boleh fikir secara logik tentang agama...Pilihlah agama yang paling logik..tentang tuhan..agama kan tentang tuhan..

Sepatutnya orang Hindu kasihan pada diri mereka sendiri kerana telah meletakkan diri mereka ke tahap rendah manusia...dalam mempercayai konsep ketuhanan!!!!

HALO...TOLONG FIKIR...LAH SIKIT....KALAU HINDU TAK SESUAI DENGAN AKAL CARILAH AGAMA LAIN...JANGAN TERPERAP DALAM MANGKUK HAYUN KAMU...!!!

KAH! KAH! KAH!

155. mother of all fatwa said;
    Yoga haram so what is next to be haram? Fatwa Council should also consider to list Airoplane as haram. Why? Read on....
    Airoplane in the first place was invented by Christian and build by Christian. Look at the design of airoplane which is a cross.
    Imagine Muslim sitting inside an airoplane is actually sitting inside a cross which us guided in the principle of Christianity.
    So please rule that airoplane is haram and rule that muslim cannot take airoplan. Muslim should only use sampan to go Mecca.

are you so stupid? to said something like this?

156. Anonymous8:54 pm

yea, rite, penganut hindu juga nak declare daging lembu haram (that means probihibed right?) tapi you orang jual sebelah ayam kat supermarket... how SENSITIVE is that, ROCKY?

157. Dear Rocky,

Spare us your umbrage.

The inanity of the religion and its adherents confirmed ad nauseam, like as if many of us are even remotely interested or cared.

We don't as we have better things to do.

Just so you know, your hissy fit is laughable.

Get a life and write better blog. 8millions viewers mean nothing

158. All religions got their ideas and inspirations from Hinduism...but that's another subject...where fanatics will never understand.

159. Anonymous5:26 pm

I don't get it, why is it so difficult to understand the reason Hindu Sangam got irritated?

You made it sound like they are interfering. Clearly, that is not the case.

The offending thing is not the fatwa. It is how the council passed judgment on others without giving the other party the benefit of an explanation or at least a fair hearing.

The action is unilateral and there is no chance for the other party to explain.

You would have understood the reason they got excited easily, had you been less defensive and less preoccupied with the notion that everyone is out to get you and to undermine your religion.

The truth of the matter is, no one really cares as long as it does not affect them directly.

Nick

160. Anonymous1:10 pm

how much are you getting paid by them to change your tune?

161. Anonymous3:16 am

Kah! Kah! Kah!
    Are you 'cursing' your hindu ancestors? Why dont you you shut up your big filthy mouth? Dont act like kurang ajaran fatwa council! God forgive people the evil promptings which arise wihtin their hearts as long they do not speak about them and did not act upon them. Children of God

162. I skimmed through all 361 comments, and it's taken me that long to figure out what I want to say here. I'll sum it down to 2 things:

1) The fatwa against yoga does affect non-Muslims. It is an insult to them and to the Malaysian way of multi-culturalism. The ban against yoga may open the floodgates to more and more fatwas; next thing you know, they'll ban Muslims against going to Deepavali, CNY and Christmas open houses. Or wishing non-Muslims festive greetings. Or sending their children to Chinese schools or Tamil language classes. And thus the Talibanisation of Malaysia continues unabated - unless we raise enough of a fuss here and now, over such a trivial issue as yoga, so that the Fatwa Council gets a clue.

2) Yes, I do sound disrespectful of the Fatwa Council. No, I have no respect for them whatsoever. The whole ban against yoga, regardless of whether it's the exercise or the chanting, is just plain stupid. And no, I don't believe I'm being disrespectful of Islam when I say this. Muslims should decide for themselves what to believe and how to practice their own religion, without having a bunch of old men in a government building telling them what they can or cannot do.

163. Anonymous6:00 pm

I just dont understand whats all this fuss about non-muslim making a big issue of this fatwa on Yoga. The non-muslims shld instead feel pitty for all those muslims out there who has been banned from practising Yoga. If muslims are more concern on their ppl staying on as a muslim instead of dying young due to health wise,let them be. Why shld non-muslims care?? I just dont understand this. Can somebody pls explain to me why the Hindus are getting angry here? Muslims have their own lines or direction or rules or ways or call it whatever you one, that they shld follow, just like a puppet.If muslims sees the good as a bad and the bad as a good, it is their way of life. Non-muslim has no right to interfere here. Muslims policy "born a muslim, die a muslim". Doesnt matter how they die as long as they die as a muslim. All the Non-Muslims out there, make sure u ppl understands this.

Razleigh

164. Anonymous10:47 am

Rockybru,
    U don’t know what u are talking and u are talking nonsense. I’ll show u why;

This is a hypothetical question for you….

If Msia govt agree that religion A has a right to say openly that some part of religion B is forbidden but “only for followers of religion A”, then precedent has been set and Msia govt must also agree that in future, for example religion C could also say openly that some part of religion A is forbidden but “only for followers of religion C.” Or any religion can describe part of another religion, print it in all the mainstream media and say it is forbidden but only for it’s followers only.

I want to hear your opinion if u agree with this because what u are saying will eventually lead to this.

Signed,
    Pure Hindu

165. Anonymous7:07 pm

Looking at all these comments here, speaking bad on ones religion, thinking their religion is the best seriously makes me wana puke. Muslims talking bad about Hindus? You ought to think before speaking this out, because every religion has its pros and cons and there is no exceptional for Islam. And Hindus out there, know where u stand, as ur just a minority here. So every phrase u speak, pls say it with proper manner.

Seeing this issue from a muslim side, the fatwa council has adress ban on Yoga because they found it to be 'haram'....meaning it contradict with the teachings of Islam. This is not a ONE man decision, its a decision made from a body after thorough studies has been conducted. Sometimes other religion practice, when it is banned by another religion, it is quite difficult to take that. Sometime this is bothering. I understand this. But non-muslims should respect (i know u guys do respect only a minority doesnt) other religion decision and try not to make a big issue on this. This is how we maintain a harmonous lifestyle. Mayb this bodies that we are talking about has given the non-muslims very lack of information of the banning of Yoga that made them confuse and started to ask questions on this issue. We cant blame the Hindus in this as well. And NO, Islam bodies does not need to consult with the Hindu Sangam before releasing such ban as this ban does not reflect Hindus. This ban is strictly for Muslims and muslims only. We hope all of you have a clear picture here.

Seeing this issue from a Non-muslim side, waking up in the morning, opening the newspaper and reading sentence such as "YOGA IS HARAM" surely will disturb all the Hindus out there. The word 'Haram' should only be applicable when we are talking on food or drugs or any other things that does not contradict with religion. This certainly shows 'how well' the Malaysian government is doing to unite Malaysians. Proper use of word that does not disturb or provoke racial tension should be applied. I realize that the Hindus are surely not satisified with this saying, as Yoga is used by all Hindu Gurus to be divine with their Gods. This is what i understand. So for some Hindus, Yoga is just not seen as an exercise but as a journey to be ONE with God. Correct me if I'm wrong here.

So, the conclusion is, most of the comments here are rubbish. Im only saying MOST and NOT all. They speak without looking at the sensitiveness of other religions. And its funny for me to see this coming from citizens of a country like Malaysia. Humans are ONE. We dont have 9 lives like a cat. We need to make sure this ONE life that we live, we live it as a kind, understanding and a well behaved human beings.

Razleigh

166. Anonymous11:07 pm

having a fartwar?