Saturday, November 10, 2007

Rally on Aljazeera

"This is democracy, Malaysian style!"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FtQxwS0CfGs

World headlines. Watch out for some familiar faces on Aljazeera, including this YB from the National Alliance of Bloggers. First bulletin at 3pm.

20 comments:

1. Hey thanks for the idea, I am going to paint my blog yellow too.

2. Anonymous1:52 pm

Dataran merdeka and sorrouding areas within 1km radius are now been made security zone. Publics are nor allowed to enter. Even both star & putra LRT jamek stations are shut down. KTM komuter dayabumi station is also closed. Total blackout for any form of land transportation to enter the city center.

3. Rocky, there are other way from marching or confronting the police to hand over the 'bersih claimed'. Why do the hard way when there are other easy and safe manner to pursuit the intention. Why not organise 1 million signature then appoin 10 committe to represent Bersih and hand over the memorandum. Why need to March? Hear of Richard Patel?. Dont you see that Bersih Marching is more toward opposition rally whereby among them Wan Azizah and Teresha Kok will present the memorandum. Politic are dirty and this peple are dirty and yet ther are the one who's going to present the memorandum. What does it means?, Most blog talk about independent judiaricy and we have lawyer from bar council who proudly march at Putra Jaya to hand over a memorandum. Look at them. How many judges are political members? How many lawyers are political members? How many of them having good realtions ships with the business people and those holding the power?. And these people march is more to gain popularity than to fight for justice. If there are sincerly in thier motive, resign from all party post and terminate their memberships. An independent judiaricy means a free system wherby it falls under the Agong same for our election process. All those holding the task should refrained themselves or a law whereby they are not allowed to vote niether to be a political members, that waht I call a free democractic systems. Rockys, free malaysian means free the people from provety and injustice not free them to gains polical interest or personal interest.

4. Anonymous2:17 pm

Hi Bro

Never believe that in my lifetime that it can happen in Malaysia - a case of the GOVERNMENT AGAINST THE PEOPLE.

We only read this in other countries, Philippines, Indonesia, Myanmar.

This Government has been in power too long since 1957.

The Son In Law is running the policy of this Govt on behalf of the Pak Lah.

The Badawi Govt is being piloted by the Son in Law.

Even the Son in Law can mouth what Govt and Police should do to the supporters of this Rally.

We must counter act the UMNO propaganda on the kampung folks.

5. Rocky, there are other way from marching or confronting the police to hand over the 'bersih claimed'. Why do the hard way when there are other easy and safe manner to pursuit the intention. Why not organise 1 million signature then appoin 10 committe to represent Bersih and hand over the memorandum. Why need to March? Hear of Richard Patel?. Dont you see that Bersih Marching is more toward opposition rally whereby among them Wan Azizah and Teresha Kok will present the memorandum. Politic are dirty and this peple are dirty and yet ther are the one who's going to present the memorandum. What does it means?, Most blog talk about independent judiaricy and we have lawyer from bar council who proudly march at Putra Jaya to hand over a memorandum. Look at them. How many judges are political members? How many lawyers are political members? How many of them having good realtions ships with the business people and those holding the power?. And these people march is more to gain popularity than to fight for justice. If there are sincerly in thier motive, resign from all party post and terminate their memberships. An independent judiaricy means a free system wherby it falls under the Agong same for our election process. All those holding the task should refrained themselves or a law whereby they are not allowed to vote niether to be a political members, that waht I call a free democractic systems. Rockys, free malaysian means free the people from provety and injustice not free them to gains polical interest or personal interest.

6. Anonymous4:14 pm

antibiul. 2.33 pm.

Well said ! My exact sentiment. There will always be opportunists--especially amongst politicians.

Bro, be careful not to have your noble crusade tarnished by politicians of the like described by antibiul.

Take care ! --and be careful not to be used by politicians whether from the ruling party or the opposition.

7. Anonymous4:32 pm

civil society is growing.. but UMNO feudal lord still adamant in keeping some beruk in them!

8. Anonymous4:33 pm

Al-Jazeera news has been Youtubed.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FtQxwS0CfGs

9. Anonymous4:35 pm

Learn the Malaysian ways here:

http://malaysian-ways.blogspot.com/

10. Anonymous4:57 pm

Antubiul,
    Maybe you got blinded by Rocky's yellow screen! Or are you jaundiced?
    Don't try to export your narrow minded views to us..maybe you'd be better off sharing your views with Zainuddin Maideeen.He would be able to make you a great buddy of his.
    Please save your vendetta for the next assembly...that would be a better forum for you....to bark for three consecutive days.
    Remember the opposition member who gave a thick book to the PM pointing out corruption in high places about 3 months go ?
    What was the outcome.....sleepy head has not uttered a single response to the report.And you have the cheek to talk about handing over memos !

Please don't run down lawyers....they are doing their best given the current constraints.What makes you say judges oughta be politically affiliated....you don't know what you are saying.
    If you can't join the crowd...at least be a bystander by keeping your gap shut.
    Can't you see things like Altantuya,Nurjazlin,PKFZ,Lord Zak,Auditors Reports,Universities abysmal standing,Angka Sawan Waste,EC's leanings,Lingamgate,Nazi's flight of ideas,temple demolishments,dubious jet and submarine purchases,bribery in the civil service,corridors yang akan tidor to name but a few that is ruining our country day by day ?

BR
    Rastaman (JB)

11. Anonymous5:25 pm

Al Jazeera just interviewed Zam, he made a fool of himself....hahahahaha Malu Malu

12. Anonymous5:52 pm

Better copy of Al Jazeera video here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BzqSddWkxGs

13. Anonymous6:26 pm

antubiul

does it matter anymore if the oppositions are using this to mkarket themselves?

we are already at the deadend and wont be seeing light anytime soon. Why not then gv the oppositioin a chance to lead us or screw us. How bad will it get??? If they are hopeless like u said, then we can always vote back BN. If ppl power can work one time, it can work again.

14. Anonymous7:10 pm

Antibiul,

I can't get your reasoning. It seems you are suffering from schizophrenic crisis. You argument is childish and ludicrous, more so when you hit the men and women who went to represent the nation at this critical moment. All what you listed is utter rubbish that either can't work or has failed to work. So now it is a different story. Signing 1 million petitions is of no consequence to UMNO/BN, the only way open now is to push them, and in doing so today, you have to be physical but peaceful. I was Chinua Achebe who said "For every noble cause, few heads must roll." I'm saddened by your reasoning. I feel you are living in cozy comfort and all that you can afford is to taunt people and fail to give realistic approach that can work with BN. Those who were arrested were noble men and women. Those who were interviews believed in a noble cause unlike some tired elements who have blogs and only know how to insult and rubbish others. They represent the spirit of the nation. Their courage and fatigue represents the spirit of the nation. Finally, the opposition members are part of the civil society, and everyone who has gone to the rally is an opposition member, otherwise, if you are happy with how UMNO is running the nation, why would you go to Dataran? The 60,000 people were not happy, in other words, they oppose UMNO antics. In other words, they belong to passive or active opposition. They are sons and daughters of the nation who have a stake in the nation. We salute them. Thanks Rocky for the sacrifice.

15. anonymous, the light will come when the election day arrived. Do our part to vote wisely. The only way out of the deadlock is thru elections. Vote wisely and dont regret. Those who only talks but never registered as voter is just the same as a dog barking at a fence.!

16. Anonymous7:29 pm

at 6:30 pm i watched aljazeere news which has a news neadline showing the protest (as above) but when comes to the news.. it was removed (by astro) and it never mentioned until the sports segment.. then i switch off the TV in disgust...

maybe we can all send protest letters to astro about this.

17. Anonymous7:56 pm

hello...antubiul,

the election has been rigged all this while...how to fight fair?

This is just the begining...congrats those who took part. We showed them yellow today.

18. Anonymous12:46 am

Might as well make a comparison with Umno Youth protest at Asean Ministerial meeting
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_QoOgTLatME
    See how Khairy ang gang behaves.

Good one for BERSIH

19. managed to take only one picture...
    http://malaysiancartoons.blogspot.com/2007/11/ten-eleven-taken-by-staff-of-nine-ten.html

20. Anonymous12:50 pm

Yell Yellow for Victory
    What a great day for democracy, freedom and rights of the people 10 Nov. 2007 was.
    The valiant Malaysian people defiantly expressed their downright disgust regarding the pretend democracy in Malaysia under the oppressive, corrupt, greedy and self centred Barisan Nasional Malaysian government.
    Election fraud must stop.
    The BN charade has gone on far far too long, enough is enough!
    Voters should turn out in full force at the next general election in order to give all BN component parties a hard slap in the face, by not voting for them.
    The fantastic turn out of well over 50,000 yesterday was commendable, especially since many blogs were blocked, defaced or hacked, and government controlled tv, radio and print media, gave out false propaganda, misinformation and lied by announcing that the gathering had been cancelled.
    Police set up road blocks and intimidating checks, they illegally forced the diversion and detention of many buses filled with citizens, the police caused the unnecessary massive traffic jams all around KL.
    LRT stations were closed, trains delayed and other disruptions were orchestrated by the repressive Malaysian government.
    The peaceful public rallying for free and fair elections were pounded by chemical laced water jetted from police cannons and tear gas was used.
    Despite all this fascist authoritarian bullying, the heroic Malaysian people, to their great credit, demonstrated a wonderful example of peaceful people power.
    People should not be afraid of their governments.
    Governments should be afraid of their people.
    Yell Yellow for Victory!!!